Skip to content

Laughing Like a 5-Year-Old Brings Me Joy!

February 7, 2010

Is there anything better than laughing loud and hard?  You know the kind where you’re laughing so hard you forget to breathe and your abs hurt and you’re clutching your middle and at the end you say, “Whew! That was a good one!” 

I did that for about an hour and a half yesterday.

Best hour and a half I’ve had in a long time.

The reason for all that laughing?

This woman:

Her name is Karen Vadino and she’s hilarious and seriously good at what she does.  Her job is to go around the country encouraging groups to laugh just for the health of it.  Her message:  if we all laugh like 5-year-olds, we’d all be happier and healthier.  And no, doing that little, “Haha, that’s funny” thing doesn’t count.  You need to let it go;  laugh til it all shakes.  Laugh with your whole body. 

As someone who comes from a family of whole-body laughers, I was all, “Amen, sister!” during Karen’s presentation.  Nothing, and I mean nothing is better than laughing loud and hard.  We Hawleys have been known to actually startle others with our boisterous laughs.  No joke.  One time my sister got called into her boss’ office because the girl who sat next to her complained that Christy laughed too loud.  (That girl was a total fun-sucker.  Christy’s laugh stayed.  That girl is no longer with the company).  My grandma used to laugh until she snorted.  She was definitely someone who appreciated a good laugh.

Holy cow.  I loved all that laughing yesterday.  Karen’s presentation was, hands-down, the best part of the Joy Conference.

Thank you, Karen Vadino, for helping me release thousands of dolphins yesterday.

Here’s hoping your day is filled with belly laughs.

XO,

Vicki

To learn more about Karen Vadino’s presentations, check out her website here.  That’s also where I found the fun picture of her I used above.  The photo of the laughing child came from here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Ken permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:07 pm

    Before I reached the bottom of your post I was thinking …. “remember how your grandma used to laugh??? – she would laugh so hard, she would snort!!! My how I miss those laughs of my mom. Thanks Vicki for helping me remembering those days — it brought me joy!

    • February 8, 2010 1:14 am

      Grandma was the best laugher, ever! Gosh, I miss both Grandma and Papa a whole bunch.

  2. Elle permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:47 pm

    …I snort too. :) just like my mom!

  3. Karen permalink
    February 9, 2010 5:26 pm

    I snort too, and at our mock wedding a few weekends ago (which totally brought me joy!) I started snorting and got another lady going and one of the guys kept asking who invited the farm animals!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

