Skip to content

Madeline is a JOY!

January 10, 2010

My middle girl, Maddie, turned 12 this week. Twelve! After 852 changes, she settled in on her idea of the perfect birthday party: lunch at Fuddruckers and shopping at the mall. I’m not sure what your 12th birthday was like, but I seem to remember Shawn Cassidy records and bottles of “Loves Baby Soft.” But I digress. Maddie wanted to shop with her friends. So she gathered up her Christmas money and her best girlfriends and we headed to the mall. For hours. Like five. My husband fondly calls me an “exaggerationist,” but in this case, I’m not stretching the truth. They shopped for hours and I would check in with them and life was good. We took a cupcake break in the middle and they showed me their finds. I admit, I felt odd walking around Target during the festivities. Parties in the past have included ornate themes, handmade invites and decorations, and lots of choreographed activites. Yesterday felt like a Saturday shopping trip at Target. And yet, she LOVED it, they all did. I remember being twelve; feeling grown up, yet not yet grown up. So yesterday I let her plan her day. And you know what? There was a lot of joy. They were “on their own,” but I was still part of watching their joy. They sent me picture mail of some outrageous boots they tried on. I was summoned to Abercrombie & Fitch to give an opinion or two (Joy! She still wants my opinion!). They even all went in on a totally fun thank you gift for me. It doesn’t get better than that. Happy Birthday to my not-yet-grown-up beautiful, smart, FUN middle girl.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    January 14, 2010 3:06 am

    Love this!!!

Leave a Reply

