Skip to content

Paying off a Bet Brings Me Joy!

January 15, 2010

Seriously?!?

I can’t believe I let this happen again.

You’d think I would have learned my lesson after the “Great Illini/Badger bet” of 2008.  The one where I was forced to wear Badger clothing for one solid week.  One. Solid. Week.  And the button they made me wear!  Don’t even get me started on how wearing the “Beat Illinois” button tore at my very soul.

Some people (my husband) learn their lessons quickly. 

How John lives his life:   Make painful mistake.  Learn from it.  Never repeat mistake. 

But not me. 

Oh, no. 

I seem to have to repeat the same mistake over and over again before I can remember the pain.

And so it goes. 

Fall 2009; the beginning of a new football season.  The Bears (my beloved Chicago Bears) have acquired Jay Cutler and I just can’t contain my joy.  Visions of Super Bowls danced in my head.  I believed he was the answer to many prayers.  He, alone, would carry the Monsters of the Midway all the way to Miami.  I just knew it.  I believed.  I really did.

Buoyed by this belief, I made my crucial mistake.  I wagered on it. 

Uh-huh. 

That’s right.

I called up Karen, my favorite (obnoxious) Packer fan, brazenly suggested we not only watch the game together, but place a bet on the outcome.   She all but shouted, “Bring It!”

Sunday, September 11, 2009, the Bears opened their regular season against The Green Bay Packers.  Karen and her husband, Dan, agreed to meet John and I at the one and only Bears-friendly bar in town.   Karen showed up in all her obnoxious green and gold.  I, of course, wore some fabulous orange and blue.  The bar was filled with Bears fans (who knew there were that many of us stuck up here in Packerland?), but the Packers were well-represented, too. 

Intense discussion over what the wager should include dominated the discussion during the pregame show.  We finally decided on this:  if the Bears win (!) I would get to dress Karen up in a Bears cheerleading outfit, put her hair up in pigtails and take her picture.  She would then use that picture on her Facebook profile.  If the Packers win, I would have to display her (huge, ugly, yellow) inflatable Packer’s helmet in my yard.  A picture would be taken and I would put it up on Facebook.  The loser would then have to post nice things about the winner’s team on their Facebook wall (for the whole darn world to see) for one week.   Also:  we couldn’t tell anyone why we had suddenly become so fond of our rival’s team.

We shook on it.

The game began. 

The Bears end up losing the game. 

Karen was beyond thrilled.

I started worrying about when that damn helmet was going to show up in my yard.

I waited and worried.  Would she put it up when my parents were visiting?  On Halloween for all to see?  Please…not the weekend when Denise and Tony were visiting!  Denise (obnoxious Packer fan) would never let me hear the end of it!

More waiting.

Bad weather delayed the arrival.

And then Karen developed some kidney stones (sorry about all the pain–but does this mean no Packer’s helmet this week?).

And then The Bears’ season imploded.

And then (horror!) The Packers made the playoffs.

And then I knew IT was coming.

And I was right.

Last Saturday, Karen and her son, Mason, set up the big yellow monstrosity in our front yard. 

As an added bonus, she brought me an entire Packers ensemble to wear in the pictures. 

As soon as they left, the helmet took off. 

Literally. 

I was glaring at it out the front window when suddenly a huge gust of wind ripped it right up from the front yard and sent it flying down the street.   John chased after it  (much to my neighbor’s delight) and brought it back (kicking and screaming) to our house.  I’m pretty sure it was trying to make a break for it.  What can I say?  It knew where it was not welcome.

The Facebook status updates have been painful to write.  How do I come up with a weeks’ worth of nice things to say about the Packers???  After losing last weeks’ playoff game, my status updates this week looked extra sarcastic and maybe even a bit mean, “Aren’t those Packers the greatest?  Gosh!  I just can’t get enough of those Packers!” 

Oops.

My husband says I need to stop making bets.  He tells me my problem is that I bet from my heart, not my head.  Hmm.  He might be on to something there. 

Then again, it’s now college basketball season and the only thing I love more than the Chicago Bears is the Illini. 

And seeing Karen all dressed up in an Illini cheerleading outfit would bring me a whole big bunch of joy.

XO,

Vicki

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Cissy permalink
    January 15, 2010 4:52 pm

    Oh, Vicki! I love your passion, even if it brings you troubles! Keep up your passion and “bear” (like that?) the occasional disasters it may bring to your life story.

  2. Uncle Ken permalink
    January 15, 2010 5:20 pm

    I wondered why you were posting all those staus messages about the Packers on your Facebook!

    BTW … reading your blog BRINGS ME JOY!! Keep up the good work!

    Love ya,
    XO

  3. Karen permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:12 pm

    I enjoyed seeing you in the Green and Gold! And you are such a good sport! Thanks for some ideas on when to place the helmet in your yard next year, because I know time will lessen the pain and the bet will be bigger and better! Besides you want revenge, I know you do!

  4. Donie permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:28 pm

    I think a helmet in your yard is better than cheese on your head!

    I’m always smiling as I read your blog.

    YOU are JOY!

    Love you,girlfriend

  5. sister friend permalink
    January 19, 2010 12:22 am

    i’m just impressed that orange is in your color wheel! love you bunches!

  6. Deanna permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:37 pm

    NEVER give up your passion! Despite the occasional costs – and laughs – I swear it’s ALWAYS worth it… from experience!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Good News//Bad News « So Very Vicki
  2. Congratulations, Green Bay Packers « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

