Skip to content

Hanging Candle Holders Bring Me Joy.

January 19, 2010

Valentine’s Day is right around the corner.  John and I are busy planning a dinner party for a few of our favorite couples.  (At this point those of you who know John are busy scratching your heads).  What I meant to say is, I am planning a Valentine’s dinner party and John is looking forward to spending the evening with some fun friends.  I am in charge of all the planning and decorating and John is in charge of the salmon.  Perfect!

I am busy dreaming up plans for invites and decorations and menus.  Of course, Valentine’s Day is a romantic holiday, so I’m thinking lots of candles and flowers.  A few years ago, I made dozens of variations of the above candle holder.  I had originally imagined them scattered all over  in tree branches at an outdoor party.  I’m now having fun incorporating them into my ideas for an indoor dinner party.

The holders are amazing easy to make.  All you need is an empty jar, some wire, wire cutters, needle-nose pliers and various beads for decoration.  I used a small Ball jar in the photo above, but you can use any old jar, as long as it has a lip around it to hold the wire.  You can use larger jars, too.  The larger the jar, the bigger you can go with your candle.  Experiment with different gauge wire, too.  The thinner the wire, the easier it will be to bend.  I bought my wire at the hardware store–it doesn’t need to be fancy.  The needle-nose pliers and the wire cutters both came from Hobby Lobby, but you can feel free to raid your husband’s tool box if you don’t have your own.

The whole wire holder is made out of one long piece.  Cut a 16 inch piece of wire (or longer for a larger-mouthed jar).  Wrap the wire around the jar and twist the wire around itself a couple of times (like the twisty-tie around your bread).  I call this loop around the jar a “collar.’   The twist will sort of look like a wire knot.   Then, take the free end of your wire and bend it over the top of your jar (to make it look like an Easter basket).   Thread the end through the wire collar already around your jar.   Twist the wire until it is secure.  Snip off extra wire. 

Wind and twist smaller sections of wire around your handle for decoration.  I made the loopy decoration in the second photo by wrapping wire around a pencil and then stretching it out around the handle.   You can make wire flowers by looping and twisting the wire around itself.  When you get a shape you like, attach the flower to the collar.  Finally, attach some decorative beads. 

Ta-da!  That’s it!  They are so easy and totally cute, especially when used in groups.

Have fun creating!

XO,
Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabi permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:25 pm

    You are so crafty! I love this idea – I see visions of gifts with this totally adorable craft.

    • January 21, 2010 5:54 pm

      Thanks, Tabi! I made these for teacher gifts one year and they went over really well. I’ve also done them for Christmas gifts. I’d love to see pictures of any that you make!

Leave a Reply

