Skip to content

Remembering this Moment Brings Me Joy.

January 20, 2010

Last year my sister took me to Paris to celebrate my 40th birthday.

I told you:  Best. Sister. Ever.

I’ve got to tell you, Paris is one gorgeous city.  Truly.  The whole city looks like something Hollywood would dream up if it had an unlimited budget and the best props department ever.  There is beauty everywhere.

During our stay, we tried to take in everything the City of Lights had to offer: The Louvre, the Eiffel Tower, a dinner cruise down the Seine, a show in the Moulin Rouge, shopping down the Champs-Elysees, a trip to Versailles. 

As exciting as it was to stand in actual rooms where Marie Antoinette once held court, or gaze at the Mona Lisa, my absolute favorite memories of Paris all took place in the Jardin des Tuileries while seated in a green chair like the one in the picture above.   

Christy and I strolled through the Jardin des Tuileries on our first full day in Paris.  We had just attempted to see every treasure housed in The Louvre (impossible) and needed a break and some fresh air.  The Jardin des Tuileries is located right next to The Louvre, so it seemed like the perfect place to relax for a while.  Our trip was in the fall, and the gardens were not at their peak, but they were lovely, nonetheless.   We soon discovered that the Jardin des Tuileries is one of Paris’ most magical places.  It was impossible to sit in the garden and not be enchanted with the surroundings:  the people, the fountains, all the statues.  The energy surrounding the Jardin des Tuileries was amazing. 

Every day we would venture out into the city.  Every day we would find ourselves back at the Jardin des Tuileries for at least part of the day.  Some days we would just sit together quietly and people watch:

Other days we would laugh and laugh at the silly things we had done that day. One day we spent an hour watching this little boy play with his rented boat:

And one day I thought it would be fun to feed the birds:

Um…that part didn’t go so well, but for the most part, spending time in the gardens felt magical.

It’s a gray day today.  The sky looks heavy.  I think I’ll look at some more of the pictures from Paris.  My memories of that trip always bring me joy.

XO,

Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tabi permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:23 pm

    Ah – Paris. I so LOVE that city (and I’m not talking about the one in Texas!). It has now been 18 long years since I’ve been there, and I truly miss the magic it holds. I am hoping someday to convince Louis to go with me (he didn’t find the magic when he was there – is the magic only for women?), since I don’t have a wonderful, fabulous sister to take me for my birthday. In the meantime, I am now inspired to pull out my own photos of France (but I do so love that picture of you on top!)

Leave a Reply

