Skip to content

Making This Mini Journal Brought Me Joy

January 22, 2010

 

Here’s a peek inside the mini-journal I made for my friend, Elle. 

Ms. Elle is one very special 16-year-old.  She’s full of life and a total joy.  She’s creative and smart and beautiful and sensitive and lovely.  I wanted to make a gift that would allow Elle to journal about everything that makes her so special and unique.  I’m a big believer in the value of journaling.  My old journals are treasures.  I hope that someday this journal will be a treasure for Elle, too.

Like Elle, this journal is one-of-a-kind.  I used a variety of papers, both new and old, plus all kinds of buttons, ribbons and trim.  On some of the pages I gave her a prompt (click on image to enlarge):

Other times I just gave her space to fill up with her own dreams and ideas:

I also added some pictures that inspire me:

The end result was a big bunch of pages all gathered together just waiting for Elle to make her own.

To make your own mixed-media one-of-a-kind journal, simply gather paper and supplies you love.  Trim them down to fit inside your covers (I make my covers out of chipboard).  Experiment with different sizes and shapes of papers.  Add your own decorations.  Fill the pages with love.   Save forever. 

Happy crafting!

XO,
Vicki

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    January 23, 2010 5:14 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!! I want to make one WITH you!

    • January 24, 2010 12:07 am

      I would love to make one with you!! (Especially in your new awesome craft room–yahoo!!)

  2. annamerari permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:08 am

    beautiful.
    visite meu blog:
    http://annacrafts.wordpress.com
    eu deixo mensagens em quem comenta no meu blog.
    siga-me:
    http://twitter.com/annacrafts

Trackbacks

  1. Making These Little Books Brings Me Joy « Vicki’s Blog
  2. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

