Skip to content

Thinking of Emily’s Bright Future Brings Me Joy!

January 23, 2010
tags: , ,

Two truths: 

1.  Emily is taking the SAT today.

2.  When I was in 8th grade I had no idea what the SAT was.  Seriously.  Not a clue.

Emily is taking the SAT through Northwestern University’s Midwest Academic Talent Search.  She’s sitting in a classroom full of high school juniors working her way through a 5 hour test.  She’s fine with it.  I’m a nervous wreck.

The truth is, Emily is doing all kinds of things I never dreamt of doing when I was in 8th grade. 

On Monday she met with a rep from Harvard.  Harvard.  When I picked her up after school she said, “I think that’s a school I should seriously be considering.”   I think the only thing I was seriously considering in 8th grade was whether or not today’s nail polish would match tomorrow’s outfit.  Harvard!

Emily dreams of becoming a doctor.  And whether or not she ends up at Harvard, I know I’ll always be proud of her.  

I look at my amazing, kind, beautiful, smart firstborn and know she’s on her way to a bright future. 

With or without matching nail polish.

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 24, 2010 4:27 pm

    My darling daughter, if someone would have told me when you were in 8th grade that someday your daughter would be taking the SAT when she is in
    8th grade, I would have said, “No way!” But she did and we were thinking of her all day, while I was doing the shower cake and Dad was staying out of the way. We are continually amazed at what our grandchildren are accomplishing and you and your husband deserve so much credit, your combined genes have created awesome grandchildren and Dad and I are so grateful and proud!
    Hooray for Emily!

  2. sister friend permalink
    January 24, 2010 9:18 pm

    she ROCKS! so proud of my god child. there are no words……

  3. Tom permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:15 pm

    Wow, I’m not that far behind. But we were in Michigan last week for a convention for work and we were talking. One of them has a child who was selected to do the same thing. She’s been taking her to classes! She’s a music professor at the University of Michigan. She said they are taking this every year???? And charting progress. Is that the same thing? I think she did mention it was a Northwestern thing. Anyway, hope it went well! Save your pennies for Harvard!

    • January 28, 2010 10:15 pm

      Hmm…they told us NOT to let our kids prep for the test, and certainly no classes. I don’t think she’ll take it every year, but who knows? The Harvard conversation led to a savings conversation, as in…we need to be socking away lots of money in the kids’ college funds. ASAP. : )

Leave a Reply

