Skip to content

Finding Blueberries on Sale in the Middle of January is a JOY

January 24, 2010

Woo-wee! 

I do love fresh blueberries. 

Yum-O. 

This week they’re on sale–JOY!  I figured this would be a great time to share my all-time favorite blueberry muffin recipe.  I adapted this recipe from one I found on-line under “To Die For Blueberry Muffins.”  John’s mom uses that phrase, “To Die For,” all the time.  I took it as a good omen, so I tried out the recipe.  Guess what!  These are seriously yummy muffins.  Simply to die for, darlings. 

1 1/2 C. all-purpose flour

3/4 C. white sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

1/3 C. vegetable oil

1 egg

1/3 C. milk

1 C. fresh blueberries

Topping:

1/2 C. white sugar

1/3 C. all-purpose flour

1/4 C. butter, softened and cubed

1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease muffin pan or use cupcake liners. 

Combine 1 1/2 C. flour, 3/4 C. sugar, salt and baking powder.  In a separate bowl, place oil, egg and milk.  Wisk together.  Add liquid mixture to flour mixture.  Stir until blended.  Fold in blueberries.  Fill muffin cups right to the top and sprinkle with the crumb topping mixture.

To make the crumb topping, mix together 1/2 C. sugar, 1/3 C. flour, and the cinnamon.  Cut in the softened butter with a pastry knife or the back of a fork.  Sprinkle over the muffins before baking.

Bake for 22 minutes in the preheated oven.  Cool on wire racks. 

Enjoy!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    January 25, 2010 12:01 am

    Thanks for sharing the recipe, glad to know that I don’t have to give up a secret family recipe for them 🙂

    • January 25, 2010 1:20 am

      I’ll be sharing lots of recipes on here. Not the secret ones, though. : )

  2. Cissy permalink
    January 30, 2010 4:01 pm

    I finally had the chance to make these wonderful muffins! I cannot keep them stocked under my domed cake plate (something my mom always did and I love it). They are almost too beautiful to eat! Almost. And in case you cannot get your hands on fresh blueberries I used frozen, and they turned out great. I just dusted the blueberries with a little flour so the batter would not turn blue. I will be keeping the ingredients handy to make these treasures often! Thanks Vicki!

Leave a Reply

