Skip to content

These Collages Bring Me Joy

January 25, 2010

 

Of all the art hanging in my home, these collages get the most attention.  Perhaps it’s because they hang in the guest bath.  I mean, really…what else are you going to look at while you’re using the facilities?  Everyone likes a good read, right?  I can always count on first-time visitors to the guest bathroom taking an extra few minutes to check them out.  One time I walked into the guest bath and noticed that the order of the prints was reversed.  John’s mom told me she already had Emily and Madeline’s memorized.  She said she had to turn to see Jack’s and that wasn’t working out very well, so she switched them. : )

I made these collages right after we moved up here three years ago.  I think each collage is a fun “snapshot” of the kids and what they were like when we moved.  I tried to create a collage that captured each child’s favorite things and words that described their personality.  I even managed to make the collages based on their favorite colors.

Emily’s favorite color has always been orange.  In 5th grade, she loved reading, writing and music (band and choir). 

Madeline’s favorite color was pink.  In 3rd grade, she loved dancing, reading and drama.

Jack was in kindergarten when we moved.  He liked soccer, art, dogs and playing outside.

These collages are fun and easy to make and they don’t have to cost a fortune.  I used black spray paint to cover some old green frames that hung in my kitchen two houses ago.  Most of the descriptive words I cut out of magazines (I never recycle a magazine until I go through it and cut out all the fun words).  The big letters and trim I already had in my crafting supplies.  I attached the magazine clippings with glue stick and the heavier items with “Aileen’s Tacky Glue.”  Be careful how much trim you use–I really had to squish those pompoms in Madeline’s picture in order to get the back on the frame.  The end result is a fun piece of art that captures the essence of each of my children.

What could be better than art that describes the ones you love?

XO,
Vicki

PS I haven’t forgotten about “Magical Monday” but my activity is tonight, so I’ll write about it soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabi permalink
    January 27, 2010 3:51 pm

    As always Vicki, your creativity amazes me. I love these, and so wish I could be so creative for my own kids! Of course, now I’ve let all my magazine subscriptions run out and I’ve recycled them all – no cute words in my stash of scrapbooking stuff!

  2. Jess permalink
    January 28, 2010 3:21 am

    I just realized why Marista was instantly drawn to Emily. Their favorite color is orange, love to read/write…..and, let’s face it, the first-borns are always connected.

    Thanks for sharing these creative ideas!! I may be asking for advise when I decide to take this on :).

Trackbacks

  1. Um…Brown and Yellow??? You Bet!! « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

