Skip to content

Adding Sweetness Brings Joy

January 26, 2010

I’m making a big ‘ole pot of homemade spaghetti sauce today.  My recipe is one part my mom’s, one part John’s mom’s and one part all my own.  The end result is some fine-tasting sauce.

The secret to my success:  sugar.  I throw a handful of sugar into each pot I make.  The sugar takes the acidity right out of those tomatoes.  It works like a charm every time.

I was thinking about this idea this morning as I was stirring the sauce.  I preach to my kids over and over:  when in doubt, just be kind.  I’d rather be remembered as being kind than pretty much any other way. 

Being kind is like adding sugar to those tomatoes;  it can take the acid right out of most situations. 

Hope your day is filled with kindness.

XO,

Vicki

image from tomatoandhealth.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Ken permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:07 pm

    I have Grandma’s receipe – I haven’t made it in ages – maybe I should do that soon — it would bring back fond memories and bring me joy!

    • January 26, 2010 5:42 pm

      I’ll be right down! We’ll use it over her spinach ravioli. Yum!

  2. Uncle Ken permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:50 pm

    I’ll make the sauce if you bring down the ravioli! I haven’t had that since “she” made it last! I have the receipe though!!

  3. Tom permalink
    January 28, 2010 3:07 pm

    It is some fine tasting sauce! I’m kind of getting caught up. The lasagna isn’t too bad either!

Leave a Reply

