Skip to content

Jumping on a Fun Bandwagon Brings Me Joy

January 29, 2010

Are you a collector?

Lisa Congdon, an artist from San Francisco, is a big-time collector; so much so that she started a blog where she will showcase one of her collections every day for an entire year.   Says Ms. Congdon, “Since I was a young girl, I have been obsessed both with collecting and with arranging, organizing and displaying my collections. This is my attempt to document my collections, both the real and the imagined.”   Her pictures are simple and beautiful.  She collects so many unusual things.  Check out her blog here.

Ms. Congdon’s project has inspired all kinds of fabulous folks to document their own collections.  It’s like she’s started her own little movement.

Like Ms. Congdon, I love, love, love to collect silly (and not so silly) things.  And also like Ms. Congdon, my love of collecting started early on.  As an adult, one of my greatest JOYS is going antiquing with my Dad.  I’m not sure when my love of collecting turned into a love of all things vintage and antique, but I do know looking for “treasures” with my Dad is one of my all-time favorite things to do.  I love looking at old things and imagining them in my home.  And then I love looking at those things in my home and remembering when and where I found them.  

So, without further ado, I’m going to go ahead and jump on the “take-pictures-of-your-favorite-collections-and-post-them-on-your-blog” bandwagon!

I found these old letterpress letters when my dad and I went on an antiquing trip in Ohio.  Gosh!  We had so much fun on that trip!  Each treasure I found on that trip brings back wonderful memories.

I buy old wooden spools just about every time I find them.  I love their simple beauty.  Every time I find a batch of old wooden spools, my dad just kind of shakes his head.  He doesn’t understand my love of spools, but he’s always the first to encourage me to collect things that make me happy.

I also love colorful old spools of thread.  Some of these spools I found when I was out with my dad, and some of them are from my grandmother’s old sewing basket. I’d love to know what was made with each of these spools.   The colors are just so yummy!

I just adore old typewriter keys.  It makes me sad that typewriters are pretty much a thing of the past.  These keys look like they were well-loved back in the day. 

I’ll be sharing  more of my collections (although not 365 days’ worth) periodically. 

Hope your day is filled with happy.

XO,

Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    January 31, 2010 4:38 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your blog and seeing the pictures of your collections. They brought back a lot of memories for me, as I, too, remember when you found most of them. We have had a lot of great times on our antiquing outings and I look forward to more in the future.
    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

