Skip to content

Emergency Donut Day Brings Me Joy

January 30, 2010

Yesterday was an Emergency Donut Day.

Do you ever have those?

Every now and then we Terlaps have a bummer of a morning.  No one wants to get up.  The one outfit they want to wear is in the laundry.  There’s nothing “good” to eat for breakfast.

On days like this, I declare an Emergency Donut Day.  As in:  hurry up and get it together, we’re running out to get donuts before school.

It’s amazing how a simple declaration can turn everyone’s day around.

Suddenly, life is good and completely full of joy.

The thing about Emergency Donut Day is you can’t have them too often.   If you have them too often it just becomes “Oh.  We’re Having Donuts for Breakfast Again Day,” which is definitely not the same thing as an Emergency Donut Day.

When the kids were younger, Emergency Donut Day was easier.  They all went to the same school so we all went together.  Then Emily went off to middle school and we started a carpool.  I was always the afternoon pick-up mom, so I could get the other kiddos to school in the morning.  No sooner would Emily head out the door than Maddie and Jack and I would head off to Emergency Donut Day without her.  I’m sure you can imagine how well that went over. You wouldn’t believe the trauma over missing a morning donut.  Yeesh.  Those firstborns.  So stuck on the “fair” thing.  : )

This year, the kids are at three different schools and I have to do the morning drop off two times a week.  The carpool is now incredibly complex and often involves six different kids at four different schools.  By the time I get the last one dropped off and safely in their various schools, I’m ready for a nap.  Seriously. 

All this coordination has really put a damper on the old Emergency Donut Day.  There’s just no way you can coordinate 6 kids from three different households when an emergency strikes.

Unless you schedule an Emergency Donut Day.

Which is what I did. 

It only took one weeks’ notice, 3 reminders about the early pick-up and special permission from the other moms, but we managed to have a fabulous Emergency Donut Day yesterday.  I’m not sure we can still call it an emergency when we planned for it a week in advance, but it still did the trick.

Kids+Donuts Before School=Joy.

And don’t worry, I had them brush their teeth when they finished.

Hope you have a sweet day!

XO,

Vicki

PS I lied about the teeth-brushing thing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    January 30, 2010 1:42 pm

    We call is gas station food in our house. And they get such a kick out of it! And if you had them brush their teeth I seriously would have been worried. That’s the best part, going to school with donut breath (better than puppy breath.)

  2. Cissy permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:56 pm

    I love that idea!

    The only time we get doughnuts for breakfast is on our birthdays. I always make sure that on the kid’s birthday I have a doughnut of their loving waiting for them for breakfast with a birthday candle on top. It is a great tradition for the boys. Of course I have to take pictures. I have lots of pictures of messy haired boys blowing out their birthday candle. Sometimes the action shot doesn’t turn out the best and we re-light the candle for take two. Crack me up!

  3. Donie permalink
    January 30, 2010 4:18 pm

    I would call it Emergency Preparedness!

    And sugar bugs don’t count during an emergency.

    The toothbrush comment made me smile….. but the the P.S. brought me JOY!

  4. Kelly permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:51 pm

    I was really thinking..”.Seriously! You had them brush, how embarrassing for them at the doughnut shop :)”, then I read the PS and laughed! Thanks for the joy…will have to use the Emergency Doughnut Day. I’m sure I’ve had several Emergency Starbuck days! LOL.

  5. Jess permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:50 pm

    Where do you go for emergency Donut Day?

    We’ve had several “emergency donut needs” at our house….end up driving to the bp gas station to be disappointed by the selection/availability. I’ve even searched the internet for options. So, we’ve been looking for a recommendation on a good (relatively close) donut supplier. Seems like you’d be the perfect person to make a recommendation 🙂

  6. claudia permalink
    February 10, 2010 2:14 am

    HAH! :o)

    i love this~~and actually am having a mental picture of the whole Swirling quickly out the door, once that annct has been made. so darn cool, and a definite pick-me-up

    sort of cracks me up that now (with all the complexities) you have to *schedule* your emergency, but i love this a whole lot. you do what you gotta do :o)

    thanks for the p.s…..THAT made me smile too……

Trackbacks

  1. 52Photos//Morning & a Buster Update « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

