Skip to content

Cheering for this Rockstar Brings Me Joy!

January 31, 2010

Don’t let the extreme cuteness in the above picture fool you:  this kid is one heck of a hockey player.

Seriously.

He’s a rockstar.

For the record, I didn’t grow up with hockey.  I know nothing about this sport.

Okay, wait, I take that back.  I do know a few things: 

1.  Hockey players are often missing teeth.

2.  Fans of hockey expect fights to break out during a game.  They look forward to seeing lots of large bodies slammed against glass walls.  Bloodshed is a bonus.

3. According to Sarah Palin, the only difference between a pit bull and a hockey mom is lipstick.

Doesn’t seem like a lot to go on.

Nevertheless, when my friend, Karen (you might remember her as the obnoxious Packer fan) invited me to watch one of Mason’s hockey games last year, I decided to try it out. 

Impressed is an understatement.

Those little guys were awesome! 

I watched those kids skate and skate and fall and get back up and fall and get up again and score and score some more.   Mason scored 3 goals that day and officially earned rockstar status.  Before I knew it, I was Mason’s #1 fan. I couldn’t believe what he could do on skates. 

Yesterday we went to another game.  Like before, I was sucked right in.  Once again, there was plenty of action.  Oh!  And good music during the breaks.  The other team gave our goalie quite a workout, but our guy was brilliant in the box.  (Look at me pretending I know what I’m talking about!)  It was close for most of the game, but our team prevailed.  Mason scored a goal (Yay!) and remains my favorite hockey rockstar. 

I didn’t see any missing teeth, blood, or even lipstick, for that matter.  But I did see a bunch of kids working together really hard to win the game.  They worked some magic on that ice.

Maybe there is something to this hockey thing. 

Too bad the pros aren’t this cute:

XO,

Vicki

Thanks, Karen, for letting me borrow the adorable pictures!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    January 31, 2010 4:45 pm

    Come and watch anytime! He may not verbalize much off the ice, but he loves it when he has “fans” watching!

  2. Jess permalink
    February 3, 2010 3:52 pm

    OMG! I spit water everywhere when I read this post.

    Why? Because Sarah Palin described me perfectly…..”the only difference between a pit bull and a hockey mom is lipstick”.

    I’m using that in the future!!

    Thx for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

