Skip to content

Just a few things that bring me Joy

February 3, 2010

I’m the first to admit I have a good life.  I rarely have a hard time finding the joy on any given day.  Sometimes just for fun I like to list the things and people that bring me joy.  I’ve found that a grateful heart is usually full of joy.  Here’s my list for today:

This guy:

Because he’s one fabulous husband..and a terrific dad…and he’s a pretty darn good son and son-in-law too. Because he’s patient and honest.   Because he understands me better than anyone else.  Because he’s loved me forever.

These three:

Because they are turning into people I’m proud to know.  Because they make being a mom easy.  Because they never get tired of my corny jokes and made-up songs.  (By the way, isn’t this picture priceless?  Sadly, they have grown up a bit since this photo was taken).

My parents and siblings:

Because they’ve known me the longest and love me a whole big bunch.  Because they’ve all had a part in making me who I am.  Because I love spending time with them,  together and one-on-one.  Because they make me laugh.  Really hard.

John’s Parents:

Because they are my friends.  Because being with them feels easy. Because they raised two really great children.

This Dog:

Because he’s my constant daytime companion.  Because he never gets sick of being thisclose to me.  Because he’s always excited to see me.  (Not sure why he’s wearing Emily’s scarf in this picture)

This picture:

Because it reminds me of how much I love, love, love camping.  And because it’s painted a happy color.

This picture:

Because it captures how I feel when I’m on my bike. 

This picture:

Because it made my heart go pitter-pat when I first saw it.  Because it reminds me how much I love to go looking for vintage and antique treasures. 

This vintage shelf and file cabinet:

Because I found them at The ReStore for a steal.  Because I can’t wait to refinish them and make them mine.  Because they will go in my new office.

And these books:

Because nothing is better than having a stack of unread books sitting on the night table just waiting to be read.

Hope you’re day is filled with people and things that bring you joy!

XO,

Vicki

Bike photo from this fabulous shop.  Totally cute thrifting photo from here.  I can’t remember where I found the adorable camper picture, so sorry!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    February 3, 2010 1:14 pm

    A visit with you and your family always brings JOY to everyone you see! I wish it were more often! Hope to make it so this year–after work calms down and tax season is over–which will hopefully happen around the same time and before summer!

  2. Tom permalink
    February 3, 2010 1:16 pm

    Got an email from my friend Rite in Georgia. This clip should bring some joy to the musicians in us all!

    YouTube – Ambassadors of Harmony-2009 International Barbershop Chorus Champions

    Doesn’t look like the link stayed, but see if you can find it. Made me smile!

  3. Terry Terlap permalink
    February 3, 2010 4:48 pm

    We have not changed a bit in 44 years — we look as good as we did on our wedding day

    Love,

    Mom & Dad

    • February 3, 2010 4:59 pm

      Absolutely!!! I couldn’t resisit–I love this picture of you two!

  4. February 3, 2010 10:53 pm

    Hmm… what about the fab four!? 🙂

    • February 3, 2010 10:59 pm

      Girlie! I have a “Fab Four” post in the works! Stay tuned! XO

      • Elle permalink
        February 4, 2010 12:31 am

        Yay! I say we start up the journal again 🙂

Leave a Reply

