Skip to content

Vintage Valentines Bring Me Joy.

February 9, 2010

I love, love, love the vintage Valentines I found last week while Amy and I were out treasure hunting.  The graphics, the colors, the sweet sayings.  Sigh.  To me, they just represent all the goodness of the past.  Nowadays, my kids get to pick Valentines that feature TV characters or teen pop stars.  Nice choices.  Too bad they don’t make ones that look like the one above anymore.

Of course, I’m not sure how this naked child card would go over today:

That thing sticking out of his bum is a lever that makes the little boy’s leg go up and down.  Not sure what that’s all about.  I’m pretty sure giving someone that card today would result in a trip to the principal’s office.

This card appeals to my corny side:

This one was definitely my favorite card of the day:

I found myself reading it out loud over and over again.  Ja!  Dots Me!  That cheeky lad definitely had to come home with me.

Back in the day, this one would have gone to my very best friend:

And for sure I’d have sent this one to the special boy I had a crush on (it even had glitter!):

I love flipping over these old Valentines and seeing who they were to and from:

Is it just me, or did Delores already have old lady handwriting in grammar school?

I wish I would have found these great old Valentines before I sent out the invitations to Saturday’s dinner.  Here’s what I came up with:

No cute illustrations, but I did manage to squeeze in a bit of corny.  At the bottom of the invite it says, “Having you and your sweetheart at our party would be the key to a perfect evening.”  Aww…

Have a sweet day!

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 5:21 pm

    Those would make anyone happy!

  2. Dad permalink
    February 13, 2010 3:47 pm

    Mom and I are hoping you have a great evening at your dinner party. I’m still figuring how I can get your blogs in my e-mail. We have checked the Notify me of new posts vis e-mail twice now.
    Love,
    Dad
    PS I think that’s a tackle box at the little boy’s side, not his bum :).

    • February 13, 2010 5:38 pm

      Hey Dad! I think you guys are signing up just to receive any additional comments that are posted once you comment (which is the box below). You need to go to the front page of the blog and find the subscription button in the column on the right-hand side (under my picture). Once you sign up there, you should start getting e-mails when I post new blogs.

      • February 13, 2010 5:40 pm

        And, yes–that is a tackle box in the fishing one. I was talking about the lever sticking out of the boy who is getting into the bath tub. It makes his leg go up and down. : )

Leave a Reply

