Skip to content

Thinking of Making one of These Subway Rolls Brings Me Joy

February 10, 2010

How cool is this?!?  Ashley over on Lil Blue Boo  created this awesomeness as part of a “So You Think You Can Craft” contest.  She won that particular weeks’ challenge.  Obviously. How could she not?  

I love simple design.  Plus I’m a sucker for things that say a whole big bunch in just a few words.  Sigh.  This piece is perfection.

Honestly, I am feeling something bordering on obsession when it comes to wanting to make one of these for myself.  As in, I’ve read Ashley’s easy-to-follow tutorial (here) over and over and decided that yes, I could do this.  As in, I’ve already gone ahead and bought all the materials.  As in, I could hardly wait for John to get home from work so I could ask for his help with all of the cutting-of-wood-parts.  I may not have Ashley’s saw skills, but I do have a husband who already looked at it her tutorial, pronounced it very doable, and is willing to give it a go.  (Yay!)  He can do all the building parts, I’ve got the creative side covered. 

Now…what to put on my list?  What to put?  What to put?  I’m thinking the real question is which life goals do I want staring down at me keeping me accountable?  I’m going to go ahead and make mine life goals, because you’d better believe I want to display this goodness forever, not just for 2010.  Narrowing down my list just might be the hardest part of this project.  I’ll be sure to post pictures of my finished project.

In other crafting news, I am working on a surprise for Jack’s Valentine’s Day classroom party.  Here’s a sneak peak:

I might also use this at Saturday night’s dinner party.  I’m having a lot of fun with this project.  A tutorial and more pictures are coming soon.

Hope your day is filled with creativity!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 7:12 pm

    I’m excited to see the results! I’m thinking it would be awesome in the kitchen with a list of ingredients?

    • February 11, 2010 10:19 pm

      Oh! I looove that idea! I also thought it would be cool just listing all the street names we have lived on. The possibilities, the possibilities!

Leave a Reply

