Skip to content

Kicking Butt at Laser Tag Brings Me Joy!

February 15, 2010

I don’t know what it is about Laser Tag, but it definitely brings out my inner Charle’s Angel.  Who knew I even had an inner Charle’s Angel left in me!  Woo-Wee!  I was on fire.  On. Fire.  I kid you not, I was practically a sharp-shooter yesterday.  That plastic gun and I worked together like butter.  I took that red team out one-by-one.  No one was safe. 

I think I can safely thank the teenage boys for my success.

They underestimated me.

The smirky teenaged boy who ran the Laser Tag game totally underestimated me. 

I saw the look he shot the other teenaged boys when he told them that “mom” was on their team.

Whatever.

They had no idea what I was capable of.  No. Idea.

I grabbed vest number 23, put it on, checked my gun and decided right then and there I’d show those teenage boys what moms could do.

Feeling confident, I walked past the Laser Tag employee, head held high.

As I walked past, he told me my vest was on backwards.

Rats!  I quickly twisted it around, readjusted, and prepared for battle.

And battle I did.

I pursued and stalked my prey.  I scooted through barriers and shot and shot and shot.  I revelled in the glory of hearing my computerized vest say, “NICE SHOT!” every time I took someone down. 

I’m afraid to say I wasn’t especially nice during our match.   I especially picked on Emily.  Poor nice kid.  She didn’t stand a chance.

When they announced the game was over and turned on the lights, my face was flushed and my hair was wet (very un-Charlie’s-Angel-like, I’m afraid).  But I felt triumphant.  Sweaty, but triumphant.

Both teams hung up their gear and went out to pick up scorecards.

Here’s mine:

I’d like to call your attention to the only stat that really mattered to me:  4 of 14. 

That’s right:  I finished in 4th place!

I’m embarrassed to say I did a little happy dance right there at the pick-up desk.

And then it got just a wee bit better. 

John’s ranking:  8 of 14.

Uh-huh.

Another happy dance.

Nothing makes a girl feel more romantic on Valentine’s Day than beating her husband at Laser Tag.  Nothing.  : )

XO,

Vicki

Charle’s Angel picture from here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sister friend permalink
    February 16, 2010 12:18 am

    you go GIRL!!! i’m so proud of you! just a little advice – i have the perfect styling products to hold up even the toughest of charlie’s angles stunts! next thing you know – you will love kung foo movies too!

  2. February 16, 2010 4:51 am

    ahahha! i love it! way to go!

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

