Skip to content

Thursday Book Review: The Space Between Us, Thrity Umrigar

February 18, 2010

When I started a book club, I discovered that each of us reads for a different reason. Some people read to be entertained. Some people read to learn about new things. Some people don’t want to have to “think” when they’re reading, while others are happy to be challenged by the written word. Personally, I find myself drawn to books that describe lives that are very different from my own. I have no desire to read about a stay-at-home mom who drives a minivan. A good book will take me to a place I’ve never been, preferably one I could not even imagine.

Such was the case with Thrity Umrigar’s, The Space Between Us, a poignant novel about the relationship between a wealthy Parsi woman and her downtrodden, yet loyal servant. Set in modern day Bombay, Umrigar gives the reader a revealing look at class and gender roles, told through the eyes of Sera, a Parsi widow whose pregnant daughter and son-in-law share her elegant home, and Bhima, her elderly housekeeper who has found herself raising her orphaned, pregnant granddaughter, Maya. Though the women are separated by the largest of class divides, they share a bond that goes deeper than that of employer and employee.

The Space Between Us is a tale of love, loss and ultimately betrayal. It’s the story of two very different women who are both struggling to cope with their own heartaches and sorrow. And while their sadness is heavy, I couldn’t help but leave this book with a sense of hope.

Thrity Umrigar’s The Space Between Us will take you on a journey into a life that I’m guessing few of us could even imagine.  This book’s a beauty.

Happy Reading!

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 12:19 am

    i haven’t read “the space between us” but it sounds wonderful, and i’m creating a long list of books i’m going to devour this summer… can’t wait to pick it up!

    • February 19, 2010 5:12 am

      Let me know what you think when you’re done! I hope you enjoy it!!

  2. February 19, 2010 2:50 pm

    This books sounds gorgeous. I enjoyed reading your synopsis of “The Space Between Us”. I will have to add onto my long list books to be read. Glad you shared this.

    Thanks for stopping by, I enjoy reading comments! So much fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

