Skip to content

A Little Love Story

February 19, 2010

 

The story goes a little something like this:

Papa was completely smitten with Grandma and tried like crazy to woo her. 

She wasn’t interested.

But he kept trying.  And trying. 

He made her laugh.

And he won her heart.

They got married and had three fine sons.  They bought a  house, and then another.  They weathered good times and bad.  And through it all, he kept her laughing.

And when those three fine sons grew up, they had children of their own. 

And those children loved Papa so very much.

Like my Grandma, my Papa was my first love.

In my very earliest memories, he looked exactly like this:

He was quite dapper, wasn’t he? 

Papa could fix a mean Manhattan and beat the pants off of anyone who dared sit around the poker table with him.  When they were done playing, Papa would gather his winnings, call my brother, sister and I over and throw all his coins up in the air.  Pennies, nickles, dimes and quarters would rain down over the floor.  We would scramble to try to gather up the most coins.  There was nothing more magical than evenings over at Grandma and Papa’s house.

When I was little, Papa would take me out on dates.  I’d dress up in my very fanciest dress and we’d head out to dinner together.  It didn’t bother him at all to be the only man wearing a tie in McDonald’s (always my choice).  Our date nights always ended with a trip to the toy isle at the neighborhood dime store.  Papa always let me pick the one thing my parents wouldn’t let me have (I especially loved the chartreuse plastic high-heeled dress up shoes). 

My Papa was there for all my big and little moments:  birthdays, graduations, confirmation. I danced with him at my wedding.  He is woven into all of my childhood memories.  I can’t imagine what life would have been like without having him and his laughter while I was growing up. 

Papa was the original man of JOY. 

In my memories, he is always smiling just like this:

Papa died in 1997.

Today would have been his birthday. 

I still think about him all the time.  I’d like to think my outlook on life was inherited from him.

I’m sure he is keeping himself busy up in heaven making Grandma laugh.

XO,

Vicki

PS Thanks, Uncle Bob, for the fishing, bartending and laughing pictures.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. claudia b permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:06 pm

    i love this story.
    love it.
    made me chuckle AND brought tears to my eyes.
    and yes, as i read these words, i will concur: i see such a strong strain of his “Joie De Vivre” in your life and the way you live it with gusto.
    happy birthday, papa

  2. Uncle Ken permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    Vicki –
    This brought back such memories to me today. It brought me joy and at the same time brought a tear to my eye. Thanks so much for sharing this. Both my father and mother were very special people and I miss them both terribly. I make it through each day with smiles and laughter because I have such good memories, like you, of them. I hope that one day my grandchildren can look back and have good such memories of both Dorell and I.

    You are an amazing lady Vicki — thanks so much for sharing and bringing back these memories for me today, Dad’s birthday.

    Love ya!

    • February 19, 2010 3:42 pm

      I just know that someday your grandkids will be writing love stories about you, too, Uncle Ken. You and Aunt Dorell are the best. XO

  3. sister friend permalink
    February 20, 2010 1:57 am

    just the best blog yet!!! thank you love for the kind words and pictures of one of the greatest men i have had in my life! happy birthday poppa. miss you and your laughter. we are all so lucky to have had him in our lives for as long as we did! xo sister friend!

  4. Mom permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:18 am

    What a wonderful tribute to one of the deearest men I have ever known. He loved all of us so much and we were truly blessed to have him. He filled our lives and memories with his gentleness, love and laughter. I’m sure he was smiling today over your loving tribute to him. As his first granddaughter, you always held a special place in his heart. Thank you
    from my heart.

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

