Skip to content

Making These Little Books Brings Me Joy

February 23, 2010

I have been scrapbooking  for forever.  And as much as I love my big albums, lately I have become completely enamoured with mini books.  You still get to do all kinds of fun creative things, but it’s way less of a commitment, and the result is a totally fun, wee little book.  I love to give these cuties as gifts.  This year I made one for each of my kiddos and tucked them in their lunch boxes on the first day of school.  They loved them!!  Each little album delivers a big bunch of love.

Sometimes I make journals like Elle’s where my goal was to create something she could fill in and make her own:

 

(more here). 

Other times, I fill the book with quotes or things I love about the person I’m making it for.

Here’s a peak inside a book I made for my friend, Mary:

(Click on the image to see it larger).

I always include a tiny little “secret message” in my mini books.  Because everyone likes to read a secret message, right?

I made this book for my friend, Marsha:

A little peak inside her book:

Want to see another?

Here’s a book I made for my friend, Karen:

For Karen’s book, I came up with 10 things I loved about her and did a page for each.

What’s that?  You’d like to see another one?  Are you sure? 

Okay, then.

Here’s my friend, Robin’s, book:

Inside:

Here’s Robin’s secret message page:

Mini books are a great way to use up some of the smaller bits of paper and ribbon you’ve been saving for a rainy day.  I love the flexibility of using the rings to bind my mini books–I can make the books as thick or as thin as I like.   The rings also allow me to use lots of buttons and other do-dads that would make a normal album hard to close.  I buy my rings at Office Max–way cheaper than buying them at the scrapbook store.

Sure, they’re small, but these books sure do spread a lot of joy.

Happy creating!

XO,

Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:57 pm

    I absolutely adore my book. It sits on a table in our family room and whenever I need a little pick me up or to chuckle at a memory, I pick it up! Always brings a smile to my face!

    • February 24, 2010 4:44 am

      Yours was one of my all-time faves!! Love you, friend!!

  2. February 24, 2010 2:27 am

    beautiful! you’ve inspired me. I’d love to start making these for my friends.

    • February 24, 2010 4:52 am

      Thank you! Yay for inspiration!! Be sure to post some pictures when you’re done–I’d love to see them!

Leave a Reply

