Skip to content

It’s the Small Things That Are Bringing Me Joy

March 2, 2010
tags:

Whew!  After last weekend’s BIG JOY, it feels nice to be sitting here in my jammies writing this blog and just enjoying the little things.

Like this cup of super-yummy tea my friend, Amy, gave me:

And this candle that is making my whole house smell like goodness:

And this guy who faithfully watches me write every blog:

I know, right?!  It’s amazing I get any work done with all that cuteness staring at me.  Don’t let him fool you, though.  It took 852 tries to get a picture of him to put in this post.  He’s like one of those people who’s been told that letting someone take his picture will steal his little doggie soul.  Capturing his cuteness is like herding cats.

Me: “Oh!  I know!  I’ll take a little picture of Buster to include in this blog.  He’s such a good bud.  And he makes me so happy on these quiet mornings together.  I’ve got to show everyone how he just sits there and watches me write my blog.”

Buster: “Oh, this should be fun.  Watch me mess with her a bit.  I’ll just give her my profile, that ought to get her going.”

Me:  “Come on, Buster!  Just one little picture for the blog.  Smile!  Show ’em your cuteness.”

Buster: 

Me:  “Dude!  Are you sticking your tongue out at me?!?  Geez!  Just try and look cute, will ya?”

Buster: 

Yikes! 

Um. 

Not sure what was going on there. 

By this time I’ve worked up a little sweat trying to capture his JOY. 

I resort to bribing him with cookies. 

Lots of cookies. 

Me:  “Okay, now, Buster.  Here’s a cookie.  Be a good boy and try to at least look pleasant.”

Buster: “Cookies!  Cookies are now involved?!  I can’t cooperate now.  Does she think I was born yesterday?  This is just starting to get fun.  I can totally milk this for more cookies.  Let’s go with the profile shot one more time. I’ll give her the other side.” 

Seriously??!

Me:  “I will get this picture!  This is a blog about JOY, dammit.  Look like you’re enjoying your day with me!  What’s it going to take, huh, Buster?”

Buster: “You see that Illini blanket on your lap?  Hand it over.  And some more cookies while you’re at it.”

I’m out of cookies now. 

And I’ve lost my favorite snuggle blanket.

Vicki : 0

Buster: 1

Hope you are having fun finding the joy in the small things today!

XO,

Vicki

PS:   Top picture from (here) spotted on (this) blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 3:40 am

    We have a dog named Buster! He is a yellow lab mix & likes to watch me blog too! 😉

  2. sister friend permalink
    March 3, 2010 1:41 pm

    oh my god i am howling laughing right now. that was just the best. i love big B he rocks!

  3. Mom permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:02 am

    I can’t believe you managed to get the sweet boy to make such strange faces for the camera. He deserved all those cookies.

Trackbacks

  1. You’ve Got Mail! « Vicki's Blog

Leave a Reply

