Skip to content

Having This Man For a Dad is a Joy!

March 6, 2010
tags: ,

Some people get lucky.

I’m one of those people. 

I was blessed with the most wonderful Dad in the whole world;  a  Dad who played with me, took me out for ice cream, and taught me to tie my shoes.  He’s the one who organized all the neighborhood kids to play softball in the empty lot next door.  He’s the one who created a mini platform that hooked onto the back of his rider lawnmower and gave us all rides.   He’s the one who’d play “Scary Monster” with us after dinner,  a type of hide-and-seek where we would hide and he would scare us when he found us.  Oh!  And tickle monster!  My Dad was the best at Tickle Monster.  He would tickle me until I thought I would pee in my pants;  I would have to beg him to stop.  I remember nothing being better than the nights we’d play “Stand on Your Hands” where he’d lay on his back and lift me up until I could almost touch the ceiling.

For most of my life, my Dad was self-employed.  He worked out of the house way before working out of the house became popular.  As a result, he was there for me whenever I needed him.   He taught me right from wrong and was patient when I made mistakes.  (Except for that huge baby fit I threw in 6th grade because he wouldn’t let me go see Grease when it came out.  I seem to remember being grounded for weeks over that one).  I don’t remember him ever yelling at me, but I do remember how awful I’d feel when he’d say, “I’m very disappointed in you.”  Nothing was worse than that.

We may not have been the wealthiest family on the block, but we were rich in family love.  We had traditions and rituals.  Saturday was homemade pizza night and Sunday was family day.  No exceptions.  At the time, I remember being mad that I wasn’t allowed to go to the mall with my friends on a Sunday afternoon.  Now that I’m a parent, I see how those Sundays anchored our family.  No matter how busy we were during the week, Sundays we were all together.  Appetizers at 1:30, dinner at 2:30.  No exceptions.  Family was everything.  We went to each other’s concerts, and plays and activities.  He was there for it all.  My Dad dropped me off at college and walked me down the aisle.  He’s been the first visitor after each of my kids’ births.   His deep love of family has been forever instilled in me.  His influence can be felt in the way I am raising my own children.  I know someday John and I will celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary like my parents did last year:

As I’ve gotten older, my relationship with my Dad has changed.  He’ll always be my Dad, but now he’s my friend, too.  I love spending time with him.  The time we shared on our trip to Ohio a few years ago created some of my most cherished memories (even if he did make me eat frog’s legs).  I’m hoping some day we’ll be able to get away together again.

Happy Birthday, Dad.

You’re the BEST!

XO,

Vicki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Ken permalink
    March 6, 2010 4:27 pm

    What a WONDERFUL tribute to your dad! The only problem …. look at that outfit I was wearing!! Oh my …. the 70’s!!!

  2. Cissy permalink
    March 6, 2010 8:26 pm

    Vicki! This is so beautiful. It brings tears to my eyes. You are truly blessed, my friend.

  3. Mom permalink
    March 7, 2010 2:16 pm

    Having this man for a husband for more than fifty years has also been a joy for me. Thank you for the lovely tribute to my special man on his 71st birthday. Our birthday weekend with all of you has been a memorable time and your blogs have added to our joy. Thank you for all you have done to make our birthdays extra special.
    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

