Skip to content

March Madness Brings Me Joy!

March 7, 2010

Have I mentioned that I am the world’s biggest Illini fan?

I’m pretty sure I have yet to convey how completely psycho I get during any sport that involves my beloved Illini.

Nothing brings out the Vicki Crazy quite like an Illini sporting event.  I have been known to literally ban John from the room during close games.  The  minute he starts getting the least bit negative, or even hints that the Illini might not pull out a victory, he has to leave the room.   Seriously.

The 2005 season was especially hard on John.  The Illini went to the championship game that year, so the season was extra-long. (Yay!)  During each game, I would stand about 4 feet from the TV screen and pace from side to side.  When I couldn’t watch the game, I’d have my ear glued to my Sirius radio. We were camping during the Big Ten Championship tournament that year.  I  missed the swimming and games and the campfires.  I spent the whole time holding the antenna so I wouldn’t miss any of the games. (Super-pathetic, I know).   One time a game was not on TV or radio.  I actually called my friend Denise and made her do play-by-play for me over the phone (she was surprisingly good at it!).   

I’m pretty sure you’re kind of scared of me by now, or worried that I might need some kind of intervention.  : )

We’re heading into the Big Ten Championship tournament again which means I will be all tied up in knots and busy rooting my heart out for the Illini.  We’re looking okay for Selection Sunday (next week!), but we need to do something this week.  There’s lots of competition in the Big Ten this year.  The Big Ten will be well-represented in this year’s NCAA Tournament.  For a college basketball fan, nothing quite compares to the NCAA Tournament;  all those teams, all those games, one-after-the another.  Bliss!  Just filling out my bracket brings me JOY:  researching the teams, making my picks, committing to an over-all winner.  Sigh.  So. Much. Fun.

 

One week from today I’ll get a clean bracket to fill out.  Can’t wait!  Can’t. wait.

So here’s to a great Big Ten Championship tournament, Illinois!

And here’s to a super-fun NCAA Tournament!

Go ILLINI!!

And for those of you trying to get ahold of me during a game?  Good luck.  : )

XO,

Vicki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:02 pm

    I hate to be the one to tell you but they aren’t a sure thing for NCAA play…with their last 2 losses the words “NIT” are being tossed around a whole bunch. They have to beat WI on Friday in the Big Ten tournament to have a chance to get in the NCAA tournament. Yes, I know they had those 2 great wins against Michigan State and Wisconsin but they also lost several games they shouldn’t have and most of their big ten wins are against the bottom feeder teams so RPI is weak overall:( So you’ll need to cheer really hard Friday afternoon!

  2. March 8, 2010 11:16 pm

    AAAAHHHH!! No!! Not the NIT!! We have 18 wins!! Okay. I’ll just re-double my efforts on Friday. We can do it!!!! Go Illini!!!

  3. sister friend permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:52 am

    sometimes i can not believe that we are sisters 🙂 but i too root for you team. go orange and blue!!!!!

Leave a Reply

