Skip to content

Celebrating My Mom Brings Me Joy!

March 9, 2010
tags: ,

My Mom lost her Mother when she was 16.  I often wonder if that sad fact contributed to the way my mom worked extra-hard at mothering Tom, Christy and I.  No one worked harder at being a good mom than my mom.  She is a truly amazing woman.   Everything I know about sacrifice, unconditional support and family, I learned from her.

It is impossible to look back on my childhood and not be amazed by what my mom was able to accomplish.  She was my Brownie and Girl Scout leader, a band parent, a Women’s Club President, a Red Cross Blood Drive coordinator, and my Confirmation teacher.  She sewed all my favorite clothes and always made sure I had a beautiful dress for special occasions.  She taught me to cook, clean and entertain.  She instilled in me a life-long love of books.  She taught me that thank you notes are important, and little gestures of kindness can make a difference.

Mom taught me to be strong, but kind.  She taught me to be independent, but to ask for help when I needed it.  She was strict, but loving.  She taught us that family was forever and that our siblings should be our best friends (and they are!).

Oftentimes, Mom did without so we could have something we really wanted.  More often than not, actually.  As an adult, I now see the countless sacrifices she made so that we could all reach our dreams (and we did!).  Mom believed in all three of us.  Always.

When I went away to college I started to look at my mom as a friend;  someone I really enjoyed spending time with.  Our weekends together for Mom’s Day were always a highlight of my school year. 

When I became I mom I felt a whole new level of love and appreciation for my mom.  I now understand the endless pool of love a mother feels for her children.  I understand why she made the sacrifices she did, and my love for her is even deeper than before.  She has been my biggest cheerleader through my own motherhood adventure and never misses a chance to tell me what a good job I am doing raising her grandchildren.

I know her mom looks down on her and is proud of  woman, mother and grandmother she became.   

I’m so blessed to have this extraordinary woman as my mom.

Happy Birthday, Mom!

I love you big bunches!

XO,

Vicki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Ken permalink
    March 9, 2010 4:21 pm

    What a WONDERFUL tribute…both your parents are so lucky to have you all….

    • March 9, 2010 4:26 pm

      Thanks, Uncle Ken!! I love when you leave comments!! XO

  2. Mom permalink
    March 10, 2010 3:35 am

    You bring tears to my eyes with your kind words. I am so very proud of my children and all that you have accomplished in your lives. You were fantastic children and have become adults that have achieved great things and brought love, joy and great pride to your Dad and I. You all mean the world to us and we love you as much as you can count up to and a million more!
    Love and hugs,

Leave a Reply

