Skip to content

A Love Letter to Paris (Texas)

March 11, 2010

Dear Paris, Texas,

Just a little note to tell you how deeply I am missing you today.  I’m about 1,000 miles away in a state where snow still covers the ground.  And although it’s been a few years since I left you, I know exactly what I’d be doing if I was visiting today. 

I would head over to this place for a hot vanilla chai tea latte:

Where I’d meet up with these fabulous ladies:

We’d talk and talk and laugh and laugh until we forgot to breathe.  We’d reminisce about this trip we took together:

We’d talk right through lunch and never run out of things to say.

Afterwards, I’d grab this lady:

and we’d go for a swim at Pat Mayse Lake:

Or maybe just a quiet walk here:

In the afternoon, I’d pick up my Fab 4:

We’d head to this place:

and order baskets of fried pickles.   We’d spend hours catching up.  They’d share secrets about their new loves and tell me all about what it’s like being in high school.  They’d fill me in on all their dreams for the future.  We’d talk about the fun we had in writing class and make promises to start the Travelling Journal back up.

In the evening, I’d sit here:

and be amazed that so much talent could be found in such a small town.

That night, I’d lay my head down and be thankful that the city of Paris, Texas gave this midwestern girl so many wonderful years. 

Oh, Paris, I left a little part of my heart down with you.

I miss you, Paris.   

XO,

Vicki

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Ken permalink
    March 11, 2010 2:03 pm

    I think a vacation to Paris, Texas is at hand!

  2. Jan Marnocha permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:38 pm

    such incredible memories 🙂 ❤ paris, texas!

  3. Jeanne permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:46 pm

    Have you seen the commercial for payless shoes? When I see that Eiffel Tower with the hat, it makes me smile every time. There are days that I really miss it there.

    • March 11, 2010 5:37 pm

      I just saw that commercial for the first time this morning! I think it was a sign that I need to head down there for a visit. : )

  4. Elle permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:38 pm

    Actually, we could all drive and meet you at 24th Street now! Miss you!

    • March 11, 2010 10:15 pm

      Aaahhh!! I refuse to believe you are all growing up without me!! 🙂 Okay, drive yourselves. I’ll meet you there! XO

  5. Maddy permalink
    March 12, 2010 12:11 am

    ummm… I’m still 15.. So you could come pick me up Vicki. 🙂

    • Vicki permalink*
      March 12, 2010 2:16 am

      You got it, girlie!! Just you and me in the red minivan! Woo-Wee!!! XOXO

  6. Elle permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:12 am

    And then you could’ve headed over to the Percussion Ensemble Concert to see two of your girls in action! Wish you could watch us play sometime. lovelovelove youu

    • March 12, 2010 12:18 pm

      I will make that happen–somehow! I will hear you guys play before you graduate!! XO

Leave a Reply

