Skip to content

Teaching Joy

March 22, 2010

I’ve been asked to teach a class on Joy tomorrow night.

I’m a wee bit nervous.  I mean, I’m not really a Joy expert.

Well, I did attend that Joy Conference where I earned 3 credit hours in “Joy.”  (I got a certificate and everything!)

But even with those three credit hours under my belt, I’d hardly consider myself a JOY professional.

And this group might be tricky.

It’s a support group for women whose husbands have lost their jobs.

But while I am (thankfully) not an expert on what that feels like, I have had some moments in my life when finding the joy was harder than usual.  And I truly believe that it’s when times are tough (and I’m guessing these ladies feel like it couldn’t get much tougher) that we most need to look for the joy in our lives.   I think that’s the message I’m going to go with; let’s find and celebrate the little JOYS in our lives during this tough time.  I think spending a few minutes every day to find some JOY helps build a more joyful life.  

I came up with a  list of ways that they can add a bit of JOY in their lives every day.   Then I got to thinking that these ladies might need their very own Joy journal to write in.  Writing things down always makes things feel so much more real to me, and I love looking through my JOY journal.   So I made a mini JOY journal for each lady write in during the class and then take home with them.  Hopefully when this rough patch in their lives is over, they’ll be able to look back through the journal and remember how they were able to find the  joy even during the bad times.

If nothing else, I hope my hour with them will take their minds off of their troubles. 

I’m hoping for some laughter and JOY.

Wish me luck!

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Donie permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:49 pm

    Just spending time with you will bring these ladies
    some JOY.
    Great journals! The journals will bring smiles.
    Have FUN!

    Wishing you luck!
    Donie

    • March 24, 2010 10:05 pm

      Thanks, friend! It was a ton of fun and I think we all got something out of it. I loved hearing their lists of “Ten Things That Bring Me Joy” that they wrote in their new journals. I think I’m going to be stealing a few of their ideas! : )

Leave a Reply

