Skip to content

Peeps Used Creatively Bring Me Joy

March 30, 2010

I just got back from gathering all the goodies for the kids Easter baskets giving the Easter Bunny tips on what the kids might like in their Easter baskets.  Of course I saw dozens and dozens of pink, yellow, blue and purple Peeps still lining the isles.  I think there are two kinds of people in the world:  those who LOVE the marshmallow Peep (my friend, DeAnn), and those who wouldn’t eat one if you paid them (me).  Given the abundance of other super-yummy Easter candy out there (i.e. anything chocolate), why would you choose to put a garishly-colored marshmallow in your mouth on Easter morning?

Last summer, though, my opinion of the sticky globs changed.  That’s when my friend, Karen, showed me her pictures of Peeps on Vacation.  Apparently, the gals she works with have started a tradition where every time you go on vacation, you need to bring some Peeps along and take pictures of them vacationing right along with you.  I’ve got to admit, once I got past the sticky-grossness of the idea, I kinda fell in love with it.  And those girls go all-out, too!  Karen’s pictures involved Peeps laying in tiny lawn chairs in the sand wearing Peep-sized bikinis and sipping out of Polly Pocket margarita glasses.  It was all kinds of cute.  Her Peeps went water skiing and laid around in colorful water rings.  It made me wish I worked at the hospital with her.

This year I was searching for something on Google images when what should pop up but pictures of Peeps doing weird things:

What the???

I began to wonder if there was a whole underground Peep movement I had no knowledge about:

And guess what–

There is!

Apparently, the Washington Post has sponsored a Peep diorama contest for the past 3 years. 

It’s a big deal, too:  rules,  deadlines, prizes…the whole shebang.

Here’s this year’s winner:

And here’s where you can watch an interview with the winning Peep “artist” herself.  And yes, I watched it.  Because, really?  It bordered so close to ridiculous that I couldn’t make myself stop watching.  This girl actually started planning her Peep diorama a year in advance; she looked through art books to find the perfect scene to recreate.  In the interview, she talks about the difficulty in rendering a 3D diorama from a flat picture.  She waxes poetic about the fact that the artist’s name is “Hopper” so the natural choice for her characters had to be the Bunny Peeps (because they hop, I guess). 

Fascinating.

I guess Karen and her friends are on to something.

But for the record:  they still taste gross.

Pass me another chocolate egg, please!

XO,

Vicki

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:33 pm

    Oh, Yeah! We have had peeps attacked by sharks in Florida and skiing the Rockies. They have been to Mexico and shortly will be taking a trip to South Korea with my co worker Cindy. My mom saw this contest last year and forwarded me the information…maybe next year I will enter. Love the Peeps!

  2. Tabi permalink
    March 30, 2010 3:23 pm

    Of course, for those of us who like Peeps (can’t say I Love them, but I do have a fondness for them), there’s the dividing line of Fresh Peeps or Stale Peeps. Some people (me) will only eat them if they are fresh – soft and squishy. Other people will only eat them if they’ve been exposed to the air for a few days and get crunchy. I do still prefer chocolate eggs, but always make sure I have at least one Peep a year for nostalgia.

    • March 30, 2010 3:29 pm

      I forgot to mention the dividing line between stale and fresh. So true. DeAnn likes them, but only once they’re stale. When we were at her house for Easter one year, she was all excited about putting Peeps in the kids’ Easter baskets. Her kids were all “Woo-hoo! Peeps!” They tore into them. My kids were like, “What are these?” (I hadn’t ever put them in their baskets because I don’t like them.) I dated a guy in college whose favorite food in the whole world (I’m not making this up) was Peeps. He only like the yellow ones and they had to be fresh. Go figure. : )

  3. claudia b permalink
    March 30, 2010 3:35 pm

    this is so darn funny–thanks for posting these great photos (of wildly creative folks). and for passing on this fun idea of the co-workers’ travelogues via Bikini-Clad sun bathing peeps. i am just loving this. AND i just got an email from a friend up in st. point wisc where right now there is a public display somewhere of local folks displaying their Peep Creations. (a separate St Pt friend of mine posted her peep creation on her f’bk page today). suddenly, this very topic of Arty Uses for Peeps is the hottest craze. where the heck have i been…living under a rock??!! :o)

    • March 30, 2010 4:33 pm

      I know, right?! Clearly, I’ve been under the same rock. Perhaps this whole Peep-revolution thing started because no one liked eating them and they didn’t know what to do with all those extra packages on the shelves??? : )

  4. Heather permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:21 pm

    Every year, the Seattle newspaper does a contest of peep displays of some sort. I don’t like them either, but I enjoy seeing the things people think up. Happy Easter!!

    • March 30, 2010 4:34 pm

      First Steven’s Point, now Seattle?! I think everybody knew about this Peeps thing except us, Claudia!

      • claudia permalink
        March 31, 2010 7:11 am

        well….waking up is a good thing, no matter when it is, no matter how long it takes. (that’s my current working philosophy, at least) these photos just make me smile

Leave a Reply

