Skip to content

Getting Giddy About New York!

April 12, 2010

So on Friday morning, this midwestern gal is heading to the Big City with three of her all-time favorite people:  Christy, Tom and Tommy.  It’s Christy’s big birthday celebration trip because, clearly, when you are as absolutely fabulous as Christy is, one celebration just doesn’t cover it.  John has decided to pass on this one and stay home with the kiddos.  His decision had nothing to do with Christy (the man can’t get enough of celebrating his fab sister-in-law), and everything to do with this planned stop at Saks Fifth Avenue:

Two words to describe the shoe department at Saks Fifth Avenue:  

Zip Code. 

As in, it’s so big it has it’s own zip code.

For real. 

We’re also going here:

We’re going to see Looped and a revival of Hair.  So, so excited!

My biggest concern is getting through the trip without attracting too much “What Not to Wear” attention.  I decided to contact my virtual friend, Amy, over at Old Sweet Song.  Ms. Amy writes a way-wonderful blog which is one of my all-time faves.  I love her writing style.   She’s always posting something fun.  Amy didn’t seem at all alarmed that I contacted her and admitted to considering her my virtual NYC BFF.   I asked for her help with what to pack.  She suggested layers and tights.  Layers and tights: check.  I can do layers and tights.   Next I’m going to ask for brunch recommendations.  I’ll be sure to offer to return the favor if she ever vacations in Wisconsin. 

I wonder if she can hook me up with a schnauzer so I can click through Central Park  in stilettos like the girl in the first photo?

Hope you have something to look forward to today!
XO,

Vicki

poster from (here).  saks picture from (here). broadway sign from (here).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 9:43 am

    It was my pleasure! I hope you enjoy your trip (I am sure that you will!). It’s actually warmish today so you may not even need the tights. You’re coming right in the middle of Sprinter – when winter and spring are still dueling but spring is kind of kicking winter’s ass but then winter fights back every once and awhile.

    But if you don’t like what you brought, you can always shop!

    • April 12, 2010 9:06 pm

      You’re the bee’s knees, Amy! Thanks for your help!!

  2. Uncle Ken permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:07 am

    If you run across any great places to eat – have brunch, etc., pass them on. Aunt Dorell and I are going to New York the end of May for a quick get-away and wedding. We do have broadway tickets right now – hotel reservations and airline reservations are all made. How long you going to be there?

    Love ya!

    • April 12, 2010 6:16 pm

      I will be happy to pass on all the good places we check out this weekend. We’ll be there from Friday-Monday. Can’t wait! XO

  3. Carrie Parmeter permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:29 pm

    I hope you all have a fabulous time! New York is a great city.

  4. Susan Hilgendorf Gut permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:25 pm

    I feel so old now cuz I saw the original hair in the 60’s. I really loved it but it was the times we were living in. I look forward to what you think of it. Be sure to blog about it ok?

Leave a Reply

