Skip to content

The Shows: New York

April 21, 2010

 

Most people visit New York and hope to catch a Broadway show. 

We saw four.

Excessive?  Perhaps.

Fantastically fabulous?  Absolutely.

Would I do it again?  In a heartbeat!

Goodness, you couldn’t shake a stick in NYC without hitting one production or another!

It was this theater-lovin’-girls’ dream come true!

The best show of the weekend, hands down, was La Cage Aux Folles, staring Kelsey Grammer and a host of other uber-talented folks.  Looking for a show full of characters as colorful as their feathered costumes and glittery roller skates?   La Cage will not disappoint!   Talk about over-the-top fun!  But under all the glitz and glamour of this show  lies the true heart of this production–the story.  La Cage is a brilliant story of unconditional love and family and being true to yourself.  I can’t heap enough praise on this gem of a show.  Bravo, La Cage!  Four stars!!  Go see this show! 

Extras from the cast milled around and stirred up excitement before the show.

On Saturday afternoon, we took in a matinée of West Side Story.  This was classic theater at its very best.  This story is so well-known that the magic must come from the actors and how they bring these characters to life.  This is not always an easy task, but this cast was more than up for the challenge.  Oy!  This cast could sing!  Of all the productions of the weekend, I think this cast had the very best voices.  And you better believe they could dance, too.   Each dance sequence was spirited and so much fun to watch.  I loved this show!  Four stars!

Our first show of the weekend was Hair, starring Ace Young of American Idol fame:

I’m pretty sure I am the only person in the whole world who does not watch American Idol, but let me tell you, I’d pay extra to watch this man even without the Idol gig on his resume.  Besides being a wonderful singer, this man is very easy on the eyeballs, if you know what I mean (wink, wink).  And that’s a good thing, because my eyeballs got to see a whole lot of Ace Young (wink, wink).  I’ve got to tell you, I loved this show.  If you’re married to a classic rock fan like I am, you’ll know all the songs.  If you know anything at all about the Vietnam War, you’ll appreciate the message.  If you just want to see incredibly fit people doing all kinds of things you don’t see if your life consists of carpooling in your minivan, this show’s for you.  : )  And a good time was had by all!  Four stars!

And finally, we saw Mama Mia on Sunday afternoon.  Of the four, this was my least favorite show of the weekend.  I’m not sure what was going on, but the male lead had a bit of a problem with the musical numbers, which was a shame, because this was, well, a musical.  I’m going to blame my disappointment on Meryl.  Once you’ve seen Meryl do it, it’s hard not to compare.  Don’t get me wrong, there were many, many bright spots in this show, including a dance sequence where the dancers wore swim flippers (this set off all my swim coach alarms–I was sure they were going to wipe out), which was surprisingly graceful.  If I had to do it again, though, I would skip  Mama Mia and see this instead:

Sadly, we were unable to get tickets to Promises, Promises. 

But there’s always next time, right? And I’m 100% sure there will be a next time.

Oh, Broadway, you’ve stolen my heart. 

I’ll be back,  Broadway, I’ll be back (jazz hands). 

XO,

Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:45 pm

    Sounds like an absolutely unforgettable weekend. I have had a hard time remembering the names of the shows, but maybe now I will do better. Can’t wait to talk to everyone in person.
    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

