Skip to content

Goodness, Gracious–This is some YUMMY Bread!

April 28, 2010

   

File this recipe under “Y” for YUMMY!  Inspired by a sandwich I had at lunch with Karen last week, I’ve been on a mission to re-create the fabulous cranberry bread my turkey breast came on.  I just couldn’t stop thinking of that bread!  I make a pretty good “cakey” cranberry/orange bread, but this was a yeast-y sandwich bread.  And it was all kinds of good.  Well, folks, I found a recipe from recipe4living and it is de-li-cious!  I about died smelling its goodness while it was baking!   

Here’s the recipe:   

Cranberry Walnut Sandwich Bread
 
 
Ingredients
1 C. buttermilk
 1/4 C. water 
1 pkg. dry yeast 
1 lg. egg 
1 1/2 TBL softened butter 
3 Tbs. honey  
1/4 C. quick oats 
1 tsp. salt 
1/4 tsp. baking soda  
1/2 tsp. cinnamon  
4 C. bread flour  
3/4 C. dried cranberries  
1/2 C. chopped walnuts*  
1 Tbs. melted butter  
   
Directions 
Pour buttermilk and water into a small bowl and warm in microwave for 45 seconds to 1 minute (temperature should be approx. 105 – 110 degrees). Stir in the yeast and set aside for 5 minutes. Pour mixture into a large bowl and add the egg, softened butter and the honey. Mix well, then add the oats, salt, baking soda and cinnamon. Mix well, then add the flour one cup at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add the dried cranberries and the walnuts, and mix well. Turn out onto a floured board and knead (adding flour as needed) for 5-6 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Place dough into an oiled bowl, cover, and let rise for 1 1/2 hours in a warm place. Punch down dough and shape into a loaf. Place dough into a greased 9×5-inch loaf pan, cover, and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and bake for 40-45 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately brush with the melted butter and turn bread onto a wire rack to cool. 
*My family does not like nuts, so I skipped the walnuts.  I’m sure it would be even better with the walnuts!  
My turkey sandwich last night was divine and I can’t wait to toast a piece this morning for breakfast!  
Hope your day is filled with yummy things!
XO,  
Vicki  

  

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:52 am

    This bread really sounds yummy — I would like to order a few loaves

    • April 28, 2010 8:15 am

      I will make you some the next time you come up! I think GG would love it, too!! XO

  2. April 28, 2010 11:15 am

    Hi Vicki,
    Your mom sent me one of your blogs last week and I am now a subscriber. You are a very talented young lady. Last night at bridge club we were told that Eileen Lunter is the new president of the Woman’s Club. Joan Meyers brought champagne! I also talked about your blog and how much I enjoyed it. I think some of them may want to join. Your photo scavenger hunt was clever.

    • April 28, 2010 12:40 pm

      Yay! Hi Mrs. Orr!! So glad you like the blog! I can’t believe Mrs. Lunter agreed to take on the Presidency–that’s a lot of work! Glad it’s not my mom! : ) Thanks for reading!!

  3. April 29, 2010 12:35 pm

    I definitely need to bake today. Nothing tops homemade bread.

Leave a Reply

