Skip to content

The Book: New York

April 29, 2010

 Okay fabulous readers:  this is the very last post about my once-in-a-lifetime-trip to New York (I promise!).  I just thought you might want a peek at the mini album I made.  I think this is the quickest I’ve ever finished an album after a trip!  I kept the pages clean and used my already-written blogs for the journaling,  which made this book super-easy to complete.  I went with an overall red, black and white theme, based on the I heart NY logo that is all over the city.  I used black cardstock for all the pages and flushed everything to the outside so that none of my pictures would have holes in them.

I divided the pages in the same way I divided the blogs:  shows, dining, hotel, NYC.  Each section had it’s own clip to divide it out.  I tied a ribbon onto each clip just for fun.

I cut out pictures from the playbills of all of my favorite actors from each show.  I never know what to do with those playbills once I get home.  I thought this was a good way to remember the “stars,” without mounting the whole big book.

I used some postcards I bought in the city, like these two and the one I cut up for the front cover:

I have already posted a bunch of my trip pictures in previous blogs, so I won’t re-post them here, but they are all mounted like the one below, with just a simple colorful border around each one:

New York City is full of color, so I tried to keep everything simple and let the beauty of the city speak for itself:

Tom took this city shot out the window of the cab on our way out of town.  The picture of Tom and Christy is one of my favorites from the trip.

I always encourage people to scrap their event/vacation pictures right away while they are still excited about it.  Later on you’ll love glancing through your books and remembering the good times.

Hope you have a creative day!
XO,

Vicki

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Donie permalink
    April 29, 2010 12:46 pm

    You are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    Where do you get all the energy ?

    Love all the New York blogs….. JOY.

    Ever been to Boston? Join us in June?

    Continue sharing your JOY!

    Love you girlfriend

    • April 29, 2010 5:45 pm

      Thanks, Donie!! I’ve been to Boston, but only for blink of an eye–we were there for a wedding. What are you doing in Boston???

      • April 29, 2010 5:46 pm

        I thought you guys were coming up here in June?!?

      • Donie permalink
        April 29, 2010 6:45 pm

        Percussion festival @Berklee College of Music June 19-26
        Elle will be busy and I will be by myself to explore all that Boston has to offer!

        Lacrosse – June 10-13 International Future Problem Solving
        Bert and I are staying home…….I might reconsider if you are coming?

  2. Mom permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:03 pm

    Dearest Vicki,
    What a great book Can’t believe you already have it finished. Hooray for you!! We have so enjoyed seeing the pictures and reading your blogs. Almost makes us feel like we were with you. You are so talented and I am so very proud of you!!
    Love and hugs,
    Mom

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

