Skip to content

Operation Baking GALS

May 1, 2010

 

Look what I stumbled upon!  I am so excited about joining these fabulous gals in their quest to “bombard our soldiers with tastes of home!”

Here’s a brief description from the groups’ website:  “Baking GALS (GALS stands for Give A Little Support) is a group of volunteer bakers from around the country who bake and ship homemade goodies to our heroic military men and women who are currently deployed in a war zone. Our goal is to show our support and send a little bit of home to remind them that we appreciate all that they do for our freedom.”

Two truths:

1.  I love to bake.

2. I am incredibly thankful to live in a country where there are brave men and women willing and able to fight for my freedom.

Baking+Being Able to Show My Appreciation=The PERFECT Volunteer Opportunity!

You better believe the kiddos and I (and John) are going to be baking up a storm for the men and women who serve our country!

Want more information on Operation Baking GALS?  Click (here).

Have a happy day!
XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. claudia b permalink
    May 1, 2010 9:07 am

    wow, this is the first i’m hearing of this, but i love this concept. thank you for sharing this– i need to pass this around a little bit. ((and hey..after reading your p’butter cookie story from yesterday, i have great mental pictures of how this is going to go. all the rascals can have a part )) what a great thing this is~~ :o) you make me smile

  2. Terry permalink
    May 1, 2010 9:13 am

    What a super idea — I will get my baking sheets out and join in the cause. I agree with you that we are so fortunate to live in this country, and I am very thankful to all of the men and women who put themselves in harms way so that we may be free. Freedom is not free.

Leave a Reply

