Skip to content

Gardening Joy

May 6, 2010

On top of my short list of things I want to be when I grow up is a master gardener.   Okay, I’d settle for being just an above-average gardener, but I really want to be known for something I grow.  Someday I’d like someone to say “Oh, that Vicki grows the most delicious Roma Tomatoes, and you should see her beautiful cilantro!”  Of course, in my daydreams of being an above-average gardener, I’m always wearing wide-legged linen pants, requisite white button-down shirt, a fabulous large-brimmed hat and of course, a great pair of gardening clogs.  In my fantasies, I imagine people stopping by my house and thinking, “I should just head around the back.  I’m sure Vicki’s busy working in her garden.”  They’d head on back, and sure enough, there I’d be, wearing my flow-y garden pants with a basket of freshly picked vegetables hanging over my arm.  We’d chit-chat about this-and-that organic matter and such.  I would be very wise in all things compost-related and always willing to share my secrets to growing juicy vine-ripened cantaloupe.   I can totally picture it.

Here’s what really happened.

Vicki:  “Hey, John.  I think we should plant a garden this year.  You know, so we can grow our own salsa veggies.”

John:  “Okay.  How about we just use some of those extra pots I’ve got stored under the deck?”

Vicki:  “No, I wasn’t thinking pots.  I want to plant stuff in the ground.  I want to work the soil with my hands, feel the earth.  I want to harvest things directly from the ground.”  (Pots???  Clearly my fantasy with the wide-legged linen pants will not work if I don’t have to toil in the soil.)

John (rolling his eyes):  “Uh-huh. Work the soil with your hands.  Feel the earth.  You know you’re going to have to get dirty to feel the earth.” 

Vicki : “Right!  I’m all for getting dirty!  Besides, I’ll be wearing a totally cute pair of gardening gloves and way-cute gardening clogs, so I’ll be just fine.”

John (more eye rolling):  “I’m going to go ahead and say ‘no’ to gardening clogs,  whatever those are.  You can just wear an old pair of gym shoes.  And I have a perfectly good pair of outdoor gloves you can borrow.”

After much negotiation, hemming-and-hawing and a gardening class at Home Depot, John built me my gardens.  I am now waiting patiently for Memorial Day, after which it will be safe to put my tomatoes, bell and jalapeno peppers and onions in the ground.

Until then, I’m on the lookout for my gardening ensemble.  I’ve given up on getting a pair of gardening clogs for this year.  But the hat is a must.  Oh, and there’s no way I’m wearing his ratty old gloves.   : )

XO,
Vicki

PS  Isn’t that picture collage at the top the best???  I love, love, love it!  It was created by the super-talented and creative Piper over at OneSydneyRoad.  Check out her site for daily inspiration and for links to where to buy the items in the collage.  Thanks, Piper, for sharing your gardening-collage-goodness!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 7:58 pm

    so glad you liked the collage :)!! I’m laughing over your gardening ensemble…I just had a similar conversation with my husband…he didn’t get the point of gardening clogs!

  2. sister friend permalink
    May 7, 2010 7:56 am

    two words.

    gardening stilettos.

    that’s how i roll baby!

Leave a Reply

