Skip to content

Lessons From Mom

May 9, 2010

A short (and incomplete) List of Things I Learned From My Mom:

*You can never be too involved in your kids’ lives. They might roll their eyes when you volunteer to chaperone everything, but they’ll be secretly glad you are there. Later on in life, they will brag to their friends, “My mom was always there for me.”

*Sacrificing for your kids is part of the job.

*There is nothing harder than watching your daughter get her heart broken.

*Waiting up for your kids to come home often leads to the best conversations about how the evening went.

*The best thing you can do for your kids is believe in them.

*Mothers should have boundaries and rules.

*Mothers should listen more than they talk.

*It’s important to know to cook, clean and do laundry, but you can be a good wife without ever learning how to fold a fitted sheet.

*Thank you notes matter.

*Mothers have an infinite capacity to love.

Thanks, Mom, for all the lessons you’ve taught me throughout my life.    You’ve always been my biggest cheerleader and a wonderful role model.  Happy Mother’s Day!

I hope all the mothers out there feel celebrated today!

XO,

Vicki

PS  See below for a peek at a few of the pages in the book I made my Mom for Mother’s Day. 

***Mom***don’t look if you haven’t opened it yet!  : )

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 9, 2010 10:09 am

    Thank you, my Beautiful Princess, for always making me feel that being a mom is the most wonderful career a woman can have. Every time I think of my children, my heart is filled with such love and pride…and JOY! My book is such a treasure, truly a love gift and I thank you from my heart. Have a wonderful Mother’s Day!
    Love and hugs,
    Mom

  2. sister friend permalink
    May 10, 2010 10:58 pm

    the book looks awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

