Skip to content

Baking for Hunter

May 10, 2010

This weekend I baked and baked and baked.  It was awesome!  Nothing makes me feel more domestic than baking 3 batches of cupcakes and 4 batches of cookies all in the same weekend.  Of course, I had lots of help, which makes it twice as fun.  The cupcakes were for Amy’s birthday lunch.  I made minis for the first time and they were completely cute. 

The cookies were all for “our” Operation Baking GALS marine, Hunter.   The whole Terlap family got involved with the baking.  I thought it was important that each child made a batch to send.  Maddie made “Hello Dollies,” Emily made “Chocolate Chunk Chip,” and Jack and John dipped a million pretzel rods in white chocolate (and then covered them in sprinkles).  I baked a batch of peanut butter cookies for my contribution.  We decided to stick with some basics this time around.  I’ll wait and see how these batches travel before I start getting fancy.

My friend and neighbor, Jess, (and her family) has teamed up with us for this adventure.  Today I went over to her house so we could put together Hunter’s boxes.  We are the perfect team–I do the baking, and she does all the other fun stuff.  She’s got the inside scoop on what our soldiers need once they’re deployed.  She had baby wipes and tons of shampoo and soap.  She also contributed all kinds of candy.  Apparently, our soldiers do not have access to candy with real sugar (Tragic!).  She also said that soldiers like to get little stuffed toys that they can pass out to children over there.  Who knew?  Why, Jess, of course!  That’s why she’s the best partner, ever!  We put together three boxes to ship over there.  I just need to get my kids  to each write a little note before I seal the boxes.

Hunter is Infantry and an 81MM or MortarMan with the 1/9 “Walking Dead” stationed out of CLJ, but with the 24th MEU.  He was part of the group of Marines who helped after the earthquake in Haiti, but the last his mom heard, he was in Africa.   Please keep Hunter and all those serving our country in your thoughts and prayers.

Feeling extra grateful today.

XO,

Vicki

PS  Hope Hunter likes the shipment:

Top picture taken by Miss Emily.  Love it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:03 pm

    Boy, Hunter is truly one lucky guy! Hope he has lots of friends to help him eat up the great batches you all put together. I am waiting to hear how you pack and ship it all and how it arrives at its destination. What a special project and how pleased you all must be. I’ll be waiting to hear Hunter’s response.
    Love and hugs,
    Mom

  2. Carrie Parmeter permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:08 pm

    What a great cause! That is so neat that your whole family got involved. There are so many men and women in the military that will appreciate your kindness!

    • May 10, 2010 8:31 pm

      Thanks, Carrie! Jess and I are thinking of starting our own team–we’ll be looking for members so spread the word! It’s such an awesome project!

  3. May 10, 2010 10:48 pm

    Oh my yum you’ve been busy! The pretzel sticks are too cute!

  4. sister friend permalink
    May 10, 2010 11:01 pm

    fabulous is not a big enough word for what you are doing! tell emily i love the picture and wish i could claim it as my own!!! i would say sign me up for the team but we all know my skill set in the kitchen. keep it up girl! i am so proud of you!!! xo

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell, 2010. « So Very Vicki
  2. Date Night at the Roller Rink « So Very Vicki

Leave a Reply

