Skip to content

Brave Little Soldier

May 11, 2010
tags:

Well, lookie-here, would ya?  My very first seedling.  I’m so proud.

He’s a hardy little thing, my seedling.  Which is a good thing.  Because I’ve discovered that raising seedlings is not at all like raising babies.  They don’t cry when you neglect to bring them in at night (Oops!  So sorry, little guy!) or howl when the psychotic Wisconsin spring wind blows them right off the patio table and scatters them into a big ‘ole clump of damp peat cups and potting soil and oh-so-fragile looking roots (Super-duper sorry, little guy!).  Nope, for the most part my little seedlings are just busy trying to survive their infancy so they can one day make it on their own in the big bed.   You can make it, little guy!  You can make it!

It’s rainy and 40 in Wisconsin today.  I’ve decided my seedlings need to stay inside and play quietly by the window.  Hopefully I’ll remember that I put them on the floor so I don’t step on them.  Of course, if I did, I know they’d just suffer in silence;  I’d be the one howling and crying.

Do something nurturing today!

XO,

Vicki

PS Awesome close-up of my baby taken by Ms. Emily!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 11:41 am

    i LOVE this!!! it’s perfect! i tried to grow rosemary last year and failed miserably (which is pretty hard to do), but this gives me hope!!!

  2. Ruth Ann Alsobrook permalink
    May 11, 2010 4:52 pm

    And what is he going to be when he grows up?

    • May 11, 2010 5:57 pm

      He is going to be a beautiful giant sunflower (if all continues to go well). Some of the other less hardy guys (cucumbers, dill, and cantelope) did not survive the free-fall from the table. I’m starting over with those (and trying to be more vigilant). : )

Leave a Reply

