Skip to content

Too Many Bookshelves? Never!

May 18, 2010

“I would be the most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.”

Anna Quindlen

Every now and then an e-mail pops up in my inbox with the subject line, “Mom thought you would find this interesting.”  The first time it happened, I remember thinking it was odd that my mom was referring to herself in third person.  But now when I see that subject line I know it means I’m going to be treated to some little fabulous something Mom found on-line and wanted to share with me.  This morning’s something was the above quote from “Real Simple Daily Thought.”  I’ve got to tell you, she knows me well, because I do love that quote from Anna Quindlen.  I surely do.  Without going overboard into a way-scary confession of my undying love for books, I will simply say I can not imagine my life without them.  And I am beyond happy that each of my kids are voracious readers, as well.   By instilling a love of reading in each of them, I feel like I have given them a key to the magic kingdom. 

Books=Joy.

Read something good today!
XO,
Vicki

PS  I had breakfast with my friend, Dee, this morning and she had this month’s copy of “Real Simple” with her at the table.  It was filled with all sorts of tabs and markers of things she wanted to show me that she knew I would love.  She was right every time.  I’m thinking I might need a subscription to this magazine that everyone says is “soveryvicki.” : )

PPS I can’t remember where I found the above picture…so sorry!  If anyone out there recognizes it, please let me know so I can give credit where credit is due.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 3:35 pm

    what a great quote, i completely agree. my mom read to me every night when i was a little girl and i hope to carry on the tradition 🙂

Leave a Reply

