Skip to content

Confessions from a Third Grade Fieldtrip

May 25, 2010

1.  I am not a fan of school buses.  Especially when it’s 95 degrees out and we’re sitting 3 to a seat. 

2.  The minute the mosquitoes start feasting on me, I’m done with playing pioneer woman.

3.  Shopping for “treasures” in a tiny gift shop with 50 third graders is a cruel and unusual form of torture.

Whew!  I feel better now.  

Okay then!  Other than that, yesterday’s fieldtrip to Pinecrest Historic Village was a complete JOY! 

In fact, had I driven there with my family in my air-conditioned van and not worn a cardigan and jean capris and been forewarned about the savage mosquito problem, it probably would have been an ideal place to spend a spring day.  Afterall, the scenery was nothing short of lovely, the lilacs were in full bloom and I adore looking at antiques. 

Pinecreast is a wonderfully restored pioneer village complete with everything to make today’s 3rd grader feel blessed to have all their modern comforts.  We learned all kinds of interesting facts and discovered new-found appreciation for what the pioneers lived through.  Bless their hearts;  lack of bug spray, alone, would have made me unable to survive on the great frontier.  I’d have to spend all day shut up in my one-room cabin playing with my cornhusk doll, wearing my coarse homespun dress and matching bonnet.  I’d probably have to be homeschooled, too, because that 2 mile trek to the school house would surely leave me full of mosquito bite welts.  It would be a sad existence, for sure.  Just me and the log cabin. 

Thankfully, we all survived the mosquito onslaught and my bites from yesterday are reminding me to be thankful for all that I have.

Especially bug spray.

Have a wonderful day.

XO,
Vicki

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly Arens permalink
    May 25, 2010 10:44 am

    I had wanted to go on this one, but she had enough chaperones…after the temps and bug stories…it was a blessing I got to stay home :)! I’m glad though fun moms such as yourself were able to go along! I’m sure it would have been a joy to be with you! I love reading what you write!

  2. May 25, 2010 10:40 pm

    what a cool experience (aside from the mosquitoes). you have such a fun life! thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

  3. Amy permalink
    May 27, 2010 8:47 pm

    Vicki, you make me laugh! I can just see you trying your darnedest to find some “joy” on the field trip.

  4. Dede Sharp permalink
    June 19, 2010 3:14 pm

    Vicki – love, love the picture collage of Pinecrest Village.

Leave a Reply

