Skip to content

Goodbye, Old Friend

May 28, 2010

Dear Diet Coke,

Gosh.  This is impossibly hard.   There’s really no easy way to do this, so I’m just going to go ahead and say it;   I am breaking up with you.  I know we’ve had a good thing going for the last 20 years, but lately I’ve been feeling like our relationship has become a bit, well, co-dependant and unhealthy. 

Oh, I know, I know;   we’ve had our laughs together over the years, plenty of them.  And you’ve certainly been there for me when times were tough.  I’ll never forget how you were there for me in the wee hours of the morning while I was writing my master’s thesis.  You single-handedly pulled me through that project and I’ll never forget your support during that long, hot summer. 

And I know what you’re going to say next, Diet Coke;  yes, you were part of all the good times, too.  I look back through my old photo albums and there you are–always by my side, keeping me company.  You were my constant companion, my one and only.  Good times, so many good times.

I’m not naive;  I know staying away from you will not be easy.  I already miss your crispy-goodness and the way you felt in my hand.  The love I had for you was real.   But as much as I loved you, I know, down deep in my heart, it’s time for me to move on.  I’m sorry, but it’s time.

Walking away from you has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.   But after I got through the initial (ice pick in eyeball) hurt and shock of leaving you, I knew it was the right thing to do.  I’ve grown up, Diet Coke, and part of growing up is realizing when to let go.  It’s time.

Please know I’ll always remember you fondly.  I wish you nothing but the best, old friend.

Thanks for the memories.

XO,
Vicki

photo from (here).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 3:20 pm

    LOL i LOVE this post! you poor thing, “breaking up is hard to do”. i’ve never had diet coke but my in-laws LOVE it and drink it every day. hope the withdrawals aren’t too bad!!

  2. Amy permalink
    May 28, 2010 3:49 pm

    Rock on, Girlfriend! You don’t need him anymore! 🙂

  3. Terry permalink
    May 28, 2010 5:31 pm

    You are right, it will be hard — but you can and will do it. I am so glad you are taking the plunge. A few months from now, you can look back and laugh 🙂

  4. sister friend permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:09 pm

    i am sad by this post. i too am in love with the DC, but alas i think this is the right thing for you to do. my heart goes out to you and to the DC for that matter. for i know that the DC will miss you as much, if not more, than you. it is a sad day indeed – but the right thing to do. breaking up is so hard to do. we are all here for you (both). god speed my friend.

  5. May 28, 2010 8:35 pm

    Thanks for all the good luck wishes everybody! I’m actually a week and a half “clean.” The first couple of days were a living h*ll, but it’s been smooth sailing for a week now (thank goodness!). Now I’ve just got to stick with it!

Leave a Reply

