Skip to content

Garden Salsa Fiesta!

May 30, 2010

Hello, Friends!

Yesterday Maddie and I made some de-lish salsa (ole!).  My family just loves homemade salsa.  The original plan was to go to the farmer’s market and make the salsa from locally grown veggies, but obviously that wasn’t in the cards (here).  Instead I just loaded the cart up at the grocery store and we pretended.  The end result was fiesta-worthy.  So, so good!

Want the recipe?  Of course you do!  Here it is:

Joyful Garden Salsa

4 large diced tomatoes
4 large minced tomatoes (or 20 littles)
2 large green peppers, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, minced
1 large onion, minced (I use either red or Vidalia)
1 bunch cilantro, minced
1/4 C tomato paste
1/4 C vinegar
2 tsp. crushed red pepper
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. sugar

My family likes “chunky” salsa, so that’s why it says “diced” for the first four.  The “minced” stuff we do with our Pampered Chef chopper.  It looks like this:

Here’s a picture that shows the difference:

Maddie and I decided we wanted to make an especially zippy batch, so we added a Habanero pepper, too.  This definitely gave yesterday’s batch an added kick.

The Terlaps have been known to polish off a whole batch in one day.  Sometimes, though, I manage to grab a little bit of it before it disappears so I can give it away as gifts.  Fill a little jar with your yummy salsa, add a homemade tag and a couple of ribbons and you’ve got yourself one fun little gift. 

Hope you have a zesty day!
XO,
Vicki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deanna permalink
    May 30, 2010 3:38 pm

    I’m so jealous!
    I SO miss making fresh salsa from my garden!! It’s just not the same now that I live too far North to grow my own peppers.
    And btw, chunky salsa is always the best!!

Leave a Reply

