Skip to content

My New Favorite Something

June 1, 2010

Happy Tuesday!  Did you all have a super Memorial Day weekend?  We sure did!  It was just about perfect, in fact!  John’s parents came up to help us cheer on Ms. Emily in the big parade.  And what a parade it was!  There’s nothing like seeing all those Veterans go by in a parade, is there?  Chokes me up every time.  We are the luckiest folks on earth to have so many brave men and women willing and able to fight for our freedom.  And of course, I loved all the bands.  Neenah High School band led off the parade and Emily’s middle school band brought up the rear.  We also had fun cheering for our favorite hockey rockstar, Mason who skated the parade route with his state championship hockey team.  Yay for parades!

Check out my new favorite something John’s Dad made for me;  my very own Oriole feeder to hang by my joy garden!  I love it!  And did you notice the *perfect* color scheme?  Got to love the Illini colors!  Does John’s dad know me, or what?  John’s dad retired a few years ago from a career as a firefighter/Assistant Fire Chief.  The whole time John was growing up, his dad bravely fought fires.  Between fighting fires and raising John and Suzanne, John’s dad did not have a whole bunch of free time.  Now that he’s retired, he has the time to try some new hobbies.  One of his new hobbies is woodworking and he’s made some beautiful things for us (including a lovely carving board that I won’t let anyone use because I don’t want knife marks in it!).   He and mom have also discovered a love of painting pottery.  Their beautiful garden is filled with all sorts of vibrant, hand-painted pottery.  So fun!  Dad and Mom are living proof that it’s never too late to find new passions.

Thanks for the completely fun bird feeder, Dad!  It makes me happy every time I look at it.  I hope my Orioles appreciate all the love that went into making it!

Have a super day everyone!
XO,
Vicki

PS  I love this picture of Ms. Emily from yesterday’s parade! 

Thanks for the picture, Margaret!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 7:31 pm

    your dad MADE that? holy cow, it’s gorgeous.

    sounds like you had a wonderful weekend!

  2. Amy permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:55 pm

    Order me one, please. 🙂 Love it! The sweet little house/purple finches love oranges and jelly too.

  3. sister friend permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:24 am

    that rocks!

Leave a Reply

