Skip to content

Summer 2010

June 2, 2010

Holy Cow!  There’s only a few short days of school left until summer!  I don’t know who is more excited, the kids or me.  When I flipped the calendar over to June a couple of days ago I couldn’t believe how crowded the month already looks.  One thing’s for sure:  no one is going to be bored this summer.  Between swim practice and basketball camp, archery class and a golf league, leadership camp and volunteering at the library, not to mention band camp and strings camp and the end of soccer season,  I think the kids are going to have a blast.  As for me, I will be doing some swim coaching in the wee hours of the morning and spending the rest of my day driving the kiddos back and forth to all of their activities.  : )  My hope for this summer is to squeeze every moment of fun out of every day. 

We’re kicking off the summer with a big party on Friday to celebrate the end of another fabulous school year.  I’m not planning anything too structured, just lots of water games and maybe a photo scavenger hunt and hotdogs on the grill.  Once the sun goes down, we’ll have a fire and roast marshmallows.  My kind of fun, for sure.

I’ve also set a few goals for the summer, things I’d like to fit in when we can.  I thought it might be fun to write my goals down this year and then check in at the end of the summer to see how many I actually did.  Here’s my list:

1.  Go to farmer’s market each week for fresh fruits and veggies.
2.  Spend sunny afternoons at the pool.
3.  Restart the craft club, plan crafts we can all do together.
4. Head to the lake every chance we can.
5. Camp, camp, camp.
6. Work on the writing books I bought the kids in NY.
7. Eat dinner on the deck as much as possible.
8. Hit some flea markets.
9. Ride my bike.
10.  Take a weekend away with John.

Oh man!  I love that list.  It definitely includes everything I need to have a perfect summer.

How about you?  What do you have on your Summer 2010 list?

Hope your day is sunny.

XO,
Vicki

Picture from here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    June 2, 2010 11:59 am

    Dont forget tubing, definately going tubing this summer!

  2. Uncle Ken permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:11 pm

    Well we already started the summer off with our big fun trip to New York! What a blast we had!! Aunt Dorell will be the busiest this summer. We both go to Washington June 30th to visit Matt, Heather and Tyler — plus David and his family! After that Aunt Dorell goes to Jamaica for a mission trip with our trip and then to Dallas Texas in early August for the big Mary Kay conference! In between time we hope to do some camping! That’s actually a lot for two OLD people!

    What about summer 2011? We need to finalize a place for the big family reunion soon.

    Love you!
    Uncle Ken

Leave a Reply

