Skip to content

He Must Get it From Auntie!

June 8, 2010

In all of the excitement of the end of the school year, the big party and Christy’s visit, I neglected to mention my favorite moment of last week!  There I was just minding my own business at the “Celebration of Student Successes” Ceremony at Jack’s school when Mrs. Tiedt, the art teacher, got up to announce the Clayton Art Award recipient.  She opened up her little speech by talking about how glad she was that Clayton School celebrated “art smarts” in addition to “academic smarts.”  As a big supporter of the arts, I found myself just nodding along.  She also talked about the importance of encouraging kids to explore their artistic side.  Again, more nodding.  She talked about how hard it was to choose just one winner each year from then entire year.  Nod, nod.  Then she said the winner of this year’s Clayton Art Award was JACK TERLAP!  Holy Cow!  My Jack Terlap?!?  She said she loved Jack’s interpretation of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers painting.  I was pretty stunned, so I can’t remember the rest.  I do remember that she had to tell Jack to come on up to get his award (I think he was stunned, too!).  Jack’s piece will be professionally framed and a little brass plaque will be put on it with his name and the year.   His picture will hang for a year in Mrs. Benson’s (the principal) office.  After one year, it will move to the Clayton “Wall of Fame” to hang forever.  Future Clayton Cougars will walk by Jack’s art on their way to lunch each day.  How cool is that?

I’ve got to tell you, I am so happy for Jack.  He loves art:  painting, drawing, creating.  I know this award means a whole big bunch to him.  I hope he keeps his creative side alive throughout his lifetime. 

I also hope he can recreate those sunflowers, because I’d sure like to hang them in my office, too!  : )

Have a creative day!

XO,

Vicki

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    June 8, 2010 12:37 pm

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! the sunflowers….absolutely stunning. He can make me sunflowers anytime he wants:)

    • June 8, 2010 1:03 pm

      I’m pretty sure Jack would love to make his special Godmother some sunflowers!

  2. Mom permalink
    June 8, 2010 5:39 pm

    Well, congratulations, Jack Wilson. We sure are super proud of you and the beautiful picture that received this award! It is wonderful and we are so proud of you. Keep up the good work, there is always room for more talented artists to bring beauty to the world.
    Love and hugs,
    Grandma & Grandpa

  3. sister friend permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:09 pm

    i am blinded by jack’s awesomeness! way to go big guy. some day you will hang in a gallery too. we will have to break out the red carpet from 2004! i am so proud of you!

  4. Terry permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:52 pm

    I don’t know why you were surprised — I know how artistic he is 🙂

    • June 8, 2010 8:16 pm

      Oh, I know he’s way-artistic, I just wasn’t thinking a 3rd grader would win that award! : )

  5. Jess permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:29 am

    Funny….I heard a play-by-play of this event at our house. Marista was so excited for Jack! But, she couldn’t understand why he forgot his name and didn’t run up to get his award :).

    CONGRATS, JACK!

Leave a Reply

