Skip to content

Happy 14th Birthday, Emily!

June 14, 2010

My beautiful baby girl is celebrating her golden birthday today.  Fourteen years ago, we welcomed Emily Christine into the world.  And without a doubt, the world is a better place because she is here.  On the tippy-top of the “Things That Bring Me Joy” list is being a mom.  And the truth is, Emily has always made being a mom easy.  She was a happy, content baby and she’s always been a fantastic, helpful, loving big sister.

She’s the kind of kid who gets up and makes her bed, never needs to be reminded to brush her teeth and (mostly) remembers to do her chores.  She’s incredibly organized, self-motivated and driven.  She carries her own first-aid kit to her babysitting jobs.  She’s owned (and used) an organizer since she was five.   Heck, she’s been preparing for college for years now.

She’s super-creative and generous and she’s already really good at giving love gifts.  She also really appreciates receiving love gifts.  She can be serious when she needs to be, but I especially love when she’s goofy.  I love teasing her.  I love when I can get her to roll her eyes at me and laugh. 

Best of all, Emily is kind.  I love that about her.  Because really?  What’s intelligence and beauty and talent without kindness?  Lucky for me I don’t need to know, because Emily’s the complete package.  The real deal.  And for that, I count my blessings.

Happy Birthday, sweet Emily!

XO,
Mom

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tabi permalink
    June 14, 2010 12:24 pm

    I can’t believe Emily is already 14 – last I saw her (and you!) she was 8! I wish we lived nearby so we could have such an organized and prepared babysitter (really, her own first aid kit?). Happy Birthday to Miss Emily from those crazy people that used to live across the street in a land known as Paris.

  2. Amy permalink
    June 14, 2010 5:09 pm

    Happy Birthday Miss Emily! You truly are a lovely young lady.

  3. Donie permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:54 pm

    Emily 14! Wow ! Happy Birthday to a special young lady.
    Hey Emily, it”s never to early to start bugging your parents about that car.

Leave a Reply

