Skip to content

Teaching Her to Fly

June 18, 2010

Oh, and when the kids are old enough
We’re gonna teach them to fly…

 

Last summer I kind of went on a Dave Matthews bender.  As in, I couldn’t get enough of his new album.  I played it all the time, especially when I was out riding my bike on the back roads.  John and I even squeezed in with 852,000 other screaming fans to see him live.  Awesome.

My favorite song off his last album is “You and Me,” which is basically a love song about a couple who are going to pack a small bag and sail away together.  In my head, I picture them as a solid and loving couple, one that’s been together for a while.  Dave sings, “you and I together can do anything,”  over and over.  My favorite part is the chorus which is actually the lyrics above, about teaching their kids to fly when they are ready.

I would listen to this song over and over and think about John, our relationship and our kids.  I tend to believe that John and I can do just about anything, especially together.  I think we’re doing a pretty great job with the kids.  Oh, sure, sometimes there are issues, but together we usually end up coming up with the right answer. 

We are working hard on teaching the kids to fly.

The only problem is, I’m not sure I’m ready for the kids to fly. 

Today Emily went to a water park with the high school swim team.  The high school season doesn’t officially begin until August, but the social activities have already begun.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that she wanted to go hang out with her future team mates, a mere two weeks out of 8th grade.  But a little part of me knows this is kind of like that first fall out of the nest. 

Before we know it, Emily will be flying.

She’s ready;  I just hope John and I are.

XO,
Vicki

picture from (here).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

