Skip to content

In Her Shoes

June 24, 2010
tags:

They say you don’t really know a person until you walk a mile in their shoes, but I’ve got to tell you, if you’re planning on walking a mile in Ms. Maddie’s shoes, you’d better be ready to go, go, go.  My talented, beautiful, FUN middle girl is constantly working on improving herself.  Maddie’s never been one to be happy with second best, and this summer, she’s packed each week extra full of activities and challenges. 

This is her last 24 hours (seriously):

Strings camp at Neenah High School from 1-4.   Maddie love, love, loves playing her violin.  She has even composed and performed her own pieces.  Strings camp is a week long and includes ensemble time and master classes.  She will learn 4 new pieces this week.

After a quick meal and clothes/shoes change, Maddie went back to the high school to play in her basketball league from 6-7:30.  Maddie enjoys playing basketball and has spent many hours the last couple of months practicing with her Dad at the Y.  She will play for Shattuck Middle School in the fall.

After basketball, it was back home for some down time before heading to bed:

This morning Maddie had a 10:25 tee time over at Winnegamie Golf Course.  Maddie is playing in her very first golf tournament at the Badger State Games.  I stuck around for the first few holes to cheer her on.  She was a bit nervous at the start, but had settled in nicely by the time I left.  I’ve got to tell you, I feel so proud when I watch Maddie play golf;   she just seems so grown up and confident.  I look at her carrying that big ‘ole bag and wonder if I could have done the same thing at her age (or even now for that matter!).

Tonight I’ll make her favorite dinner (beef stroganoff and crescent rolls) to celebrate her Badger State Games success.  Tomorrow she’ll head back to strings camp and then play in a concert tomorrow afternoon.  Whew! 

I am so proud of this amazing girl and all the different things she does to fill her life.  I love that she challenges herself to try new activities;  she is always willing to push herself out of her own comfort zone.  I know that trait will help her succeed in life. 

But, while I love to watch her perform on stage and hit balls down fairways and into baskets, my favorite thing about Maddie is she’s just fun to hang out with.   There’s nothing better than being with my very favorite Middle Girl:

 After the craziness of this week, I think some down time together this weekend will be just about perfect.

There’s something special about Middle Girls;  especially my Middle Girl, Maddie.

XO,

Vicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:47 pm

    I am absolutely so excited to see Maddie doing all of the above this summer, She is an absolutely unbelieveably talented young lady and I know she will be a champ in whatever she chooses to accomplish. Here’s to you, my beautiful grandaughter. Love and cheers for you!
    Love and hugs, Grandma

  2. sister friend permalink
    June 27, 2010 3:33 am

    that girl ROCKS! love her to life!!! she is pure inspiration and i know that she will succeed in everything she does. you go girl!

Leave a Reply

