Skip to content

Badger State Games Wrap-Up

June 26, 2010

 The Badger State Games are a yearly olympic-style competition where athletes from around the state gather and compete in everything from inline skating and golf to swimming and gymnastics.  For the past two years, the Games have been held here in Appleton.  This year, Maddie competed in golf, Emily competed in swimming and John served as the commissioner of the disc golf tournament. 

Emily and I just got back from the swimming portion of the Badger State Games where she swam 3/3 best times in the 200 IM, 50 Free and 100 Back.  Emily has been swimming competitively on and off since she was 5.  For much of the last 4 years I have had the privilege of being her coach, but it wasn’t until this summer that I began to see how far she is willing to go to improve and dedicate herself to her sport. 

In the fall, Emily will compete for the Neenah High School swim team, and she is determined to use this summer to perfect technique, drop time, and get in the best condition she has ever been in.  Emily, along with 7 other former teammates spend 2 hours in the water and 1 hour working out on “dryland” Monday-Friday.  Did I mention that it starts at 6 am?  That’s dedication.  And she’s not complaining, either, which is good, because I charge my swimmers $.25 every time they whine, complain or try to negotiate with me.

On the first day of practice I told my swimmers that there are two types of pain:  the pain of discipline and the pain of regret.  My hope is that each and every one of my swimmers walk away from this summer with no regrets. 

I know that if Emily keeps working as hard as she has been, she will head into the high school season completely ready and with no regrets.

XO,

Vicki

PS  I’ve got to give a shout out to all my former swimmers who are competing at the Badger State Games.  I am so proud of all of you!  XO

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    June 26, 2010 2:38 pm

    After seeing her swim today, I would say she is more than ready for high school swimming! She looked great! Way to go Emily!

  2. sister friend permalink
    June 27, 2010 3:38 am

    holy cow that is a lot of work so very early in the morning. life goal – get up at 6 and do something. anything. way to go to emily and all the kids and to you sister friend. so proud of all of you!

  3. Mom permalink
    June 27, 2010 9:26 pm

    Congratulations Emily, Madeline and John and Vicki. Sounds like you had a good weekend. It’s dedication with a capitol D when you are willing to be swimming at 6 am 5 days a week, Emily during summer vacation and I admire your willingness to practice and prepare. Good luck to you! I also have to admire the coach who rolls out that early, way to go Vicki!
    Love and hugs,
    Mom/Grandma

Leave a Reply

