Skip to content

Silence

July 7, 2010

It is so quiet.

After two fabulous days with Denise and Isabella and six fun weeks with the kids home with me all day, I find myself sitting here quietly in my favorite blog writing chair with just my faithful companion, Buster, at my side.

The kids left this morning with Denise and Isabella to spend the rest of the week at John’s parents’ house.  I’ve got to tell you, Denise has done a whole bunch of nice things for me over the years, but when she offered to take my kids down to Kenosha (which is on her way home), I did one humongous happy dance.  What?  No six-hour round trip car ride?!?  Fabulous!  It was like I was given the gift of an entire unexpected free day! 

At first I felt a little rusty at the being-by-myself-thing again.  But by the time they turned the corner at the end of the street, I managed to shake that feeling off.  : )  I promptly went in the house, turned on some non-educational TV and started eating bonbons.  That’s right:  I was living the good life. 

The good life was fun for about 5 minutes or so. 

What to do?  What to do? 

I scanned my favorite blogs, which took up another good 20 minutes or so.   Then I forced myself to head out to the salon and get my hair done (it’s a hard life, but someone has to do it).  I contemplated a pedicure…or maybe a movie, but then I got scared:  what if I used up all the fun activities on the first day (or the first 3 hours). What would I do for the other 4 days?  

Why is it that when the kids are home and the dog is barking and the dishwasher needs emptying all I can do is wish for a few hours for myself, but then when I get a few hours by myself, all I want to do is hang out with my kids? 

Hmm.  I’ll have to ponder that one for a while.  That should take up another good 10-15 minutes.

Miss you already, guys!

Have fun at Grammy and Grampy’s!

XO,

Vicki

PS  The lovely flowers were a gift from Amy and were grown in her garden.  The picture was taken by the talented Ms. Emily.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 6:40 pm

    Miss you too, Mom! Just keep eating those bon-bons and watching non-educational TV and we’ll be home soon!!

    • July 7, 2010 7:20 pm

      Thanks, Maddie-Boo! I’ll try to hold out until Saturday, but don’t be surprised if I show up Friday morning. (Just kidding). Love you!

  2. sister friend permalink
    July 8, 2010 6:24 pm

    pedi on tap for tomorrow! you totally deserve it and it will totally bring you and your toes joy! love you!

Leave a Reply

