Skip to content

Dinner and a Nook

July 10, 2010

Last night I put on a skirt and heels and my best guy and I headed out to dinner.  Just the two of us.  It was magical.  We sat at a table for two (that was covered in real linen) and talked and talked and talked.  We talked about the kids, Jack’s upcoming birthday, John’s job and my coaching…we never ran out of things to say.  The food was delicious, and the company was even better.

After dinner, John asked me what I wanted to do.  He vetoed going to see the new Twilight movie (I was just seeing how much I could get away with) but said yes to a visit to Barnes and Noble.  Now, I know I’ve discussed many of John’s fine qualities in previous posts, but I’m afraid he does have one major defect:  he’s not a reader.  As in, he reads nothing:  no books or newspapers.  Nada.   As hard as it is to believe, my man just does not “get” the book fascination that his wife and all three of his children share.  I’ve given up on trying to convert him.  He big ‘ole brain just did not come with the reader portion (this completely baffles me). 

So when he agreed to go to Barnes and Noble with me, I knew he was really trying. 

I brought him with me so I could have the wonderfully knowledgeable Barnes and Noble lady explain (read: sell)  the Nook to him.   As a non-reader, John can hardly understand my need to buy a book, let alone an electronic reader, but I was hopeful that the “electronic” part would lure him in.  (As an electrical engineer, he does love technology).  And God bless her, the lovely B&N lady impressed my man.  He could have cared less about the fact that I would be able to download 1500 books into one little pad, or that I could check books out of the library right onto my Nook, or that I could read outdoors because the screen was not backlit.  No, my husband loved the magnetic something-or-other way the words appeared on the screen (that was the part I tuned out).  That part really caught his fancy.  He talked about it all the way home.  And then he looked up how many e-books were available at our library.  And then he gave me the go-ahead to buy a Nook, and recommended the extended warranty (in case I drop it in the tub). 

I’m pretty sure it was the best date night, ever.

Now I just have to decide on the perfect cute cover. 

Because no mater what they say, you can’t help judging a Nook by its cover.

Happy Saturday!

XO,

Vicki

Nook cover collage found (here)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 11:12 am

    My favorite is 1! For sure! That pink is to die for and trust me, you definitely want one that will open like a book. I have one of those for my Sony ereader and I love it. But now I definitely want that pink one…

  2. claudia b permalink
    July 10, 2010 2:25 pm

    hahahahaha. oh how sweet.
    i love the covers (that whimsical colorful
    one laden with books may get my vote). but even moreso,
    i love the image of your date, incl your heels and skirt
    and endless topics.
    you’re sure got a way with words, Missy Ma’am! :o)
    and congrats on this whole new chapter opening
    up (magnetic something’s and all)

  3. Denise permalink
    July 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    Yippee….now we can “lend” even more books to each other (and faster too). I, of course, vote for the Kate Spade cover…..but all of them are pretty cute. I went to B & N yesterday afternoon too and got some new books for the Nook:) So glad you were able to have a fun night with John….AND did I mention that I can’t wait to see you again in 3 weeks:)

    • July 12, 2010 7:56 pm

      Let me know what you bought so we don’t duplicate! : ) Counting the days!

  4. sister friend permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:50 pm

    awesome! why can’t i find a good man like that. you are both so lucky to have each other!!! you guys rock!

Leave a Reply

