Skip to content

Manderfield’s and Chlorine

July 21, 2010

Two Truths:

1.  I am a pretty tough coach.  I expect a lot out of my swimmers;  we work hard each and every day.

2.  I believe what you put into your mouth has a direct impact on how you perform in the water.  I make my swimmers keep a food journal so they can record what they ate for breakfast each morning before practice.

******************************************************************************************

Last night we had some wicked storms:  rain, hail, wind, the whole nine yards.  This morning dead leaves and branches littered the pool.   A sign taped to the front door said, “Morning Swim Cancelled Due to Weather.”  I’m not going to lie:  those swimmers who arrived early were pretty excited about the possibility that practice might have to be cancelled.  But alas, after talking to the pool manager, I found out that the pool would probably be ready to use by 7.  That left an hour to kill. 

What to do? What to do…

Amy voted for taking a nap, McKayla voted for sitting in a circle and sharing our goals and motivations, and Andrew voted for Manderfield’s.   Manderfield’s is a local, much-beloved bakery, which happens to be located about 3 blocks from the pool. Seriously?!?  Donuts before practice?  All my coaching instincts told me this was probably a bad idea.  After all, we were going to be in the water in less than an hour, and because I write the workouts, I knew they had a couple of hard sets to get through.  After much pleading and promises about not whining when they felt sick later on, I agreed to a Manderfield’s field trip.

Quicker than you could say, “donuts,” we were off on our journey.

And you know what?  The joy on their faces made it all totally worth it.  Sure, I worried how triple chocolate donuts would sit in their tummies, but Elijah convinced me that his (huge) apple bear paw was healthy, what with the apples, and all. 

I just shook my head.

They ate, we walked back, got ready, and swam the second hour.  They all did quite well.  After practice, we had a super-special visit from Sean, who used to coach with me.  Sean is a top-notch chiropractor who works with a lot of athletes.  I had asked Sean to come to our dryland practice in order to straighten out all my swimmers.  Sean showed up with, you guessed it:  Manderfield’s!

Now, you’d think my swimmers would take a pass on ANOTHER set of donuts, but you’d be wrong.  They were just as joyful about the second Manderfield’s as they were for the first:

I bit my lip,watched them consume even more sugar, and then Sean straightened them out.  

As hard as it was to look the other way as I watched them consume way too many donuts, I know it was totally worth it.  You just can’t buy that kind of joy. 

Or, maybe you can, especially if you shop at Manderfield’s. 

Hope your day was sticky-sweet!

XO,

Vicki

PS  I’m not really that worried about today’s sugar fiesta.  I’m pretty sure I’ve got the perfect sprint set to counteract all those donuts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 21, 2010 7:36 pm

    This just makes me giggle. I needed a giggle today, too! You’re the best, Coach Vicki!

  2. Tabi permalink
    July 22, 2010 9:19 am

    Oh, I really miss Manderfields! Reminds me of weekend mornings as a teenager.

Leave a Reply

